Flamingo Flair

“He who cannot change the very fabric of his thought will never be able to change reality.”
– Anwar al-Sadat

Flamingo Flair

Watercolor & Ink

I don’t know a single respectable flamingo who wouldn’t love these shoes!  I have painted a ton of animals with shoes on over the years, but flamingos seem to wear them with flair!  😀

On the news this morning, they were talking about a new line of makeup WalMart is introducing for 8-13 year old girls!  I can hear my mother now… “You’re going to be old a very long time.  Stay young as long as you can!”  Back then, it was agonizing, but now I see her point.  Young is good!  I wore my innocent face until I was 16, and even then, she denied the blue eye shadow.  he he

About Anwar al-Sadat

Egyptian president Anwar al-Sadat won the 1978 Nobel Peace Prize in conjunction with Israeli prime minister Menachim Begin for the Camp David Accords. He was born in Egypt in 1918. He participated in the 1952 coup to oust the corrupt King Farouk and became president in 1970. He led Egypt into the Yom Kippur War to reclaim part of the Sinai Peninsula. When that failed, he took the risky diplomatic path, opening the door to détente. He was assassinated in 1981 by Muslim extremists.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alina
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 11:11:56

    Original artwork!

    Have fun! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Artswebshow
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 06:50:08

    Nice shoes.
    You’re right flamingos do wear them well. lol

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 23:31:07

    A very “wiggle your butt” kind of painting, Beth!
    I listened to a program on NPR this morning talking about how difficult it is to find age appropriate clothing for our little girls these days. I am inclined to agree. I really detest most of the clothing offered for our little Grandchildren and we go everywhere and are very selective so they don’t end up looking “Goth” as we drop them off at pre-school.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 28, 2011 @ 08:46:35

      Thanks, Leslie! It really is a shame that little girls have to grow up so fast. I’ve seen little girls mirror the body language of way too old women, too. It’s as if there’s a wonderful piece of their childhood that they’re missing out on by growing up too fast.

      Whenever I say things like that, my husband reminds me that I’m getting old. 😀

      Reply

      • lesliepaints
        Jan 28, 2011 @ 09:14:04

        I know I am getting older, but don’t agree with your husband. My daughter in her late 20’s is horribly frustrated with the lack of selection of clothing to dress her daughter age appropriately.

      • Beth Parker
        Jan 28, 2011 @ 09:29:40

        Thank you! I don’t agree with him either. When I was young, my mother sewed all my clothes, except jeans and stuff like that. By the time I was 14, I was sewing my own clothes, too. It sure was a different time. 🙂

  4. Alex Zonis
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 15:23:57

    Love the new birdie-bird series in general, but this one is particularly great! And funny! And clever! And I really needed a light-hearted giggle today, and now I had it :lol:. Thank you, Beth!

    Reply

  5. Debbie Adams
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 11:53:56

    Lol…I love it. It looks great and your client ought to love it too. You did say, “One of my best leads wants to see my flamingos in high top tennies.” I think they would love the heels as well.
    We got 11-12 inches of snow last night. Yuk!! I dread it, I dread it, all the pushing and shoveling! Our driveway is a 250ft hill, not as long as yours Beth, but that hill is no picnic when it get slippery.
    Love the Flamingo, reminds me of high fashion for Florida. Big Smiles.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 12:06:37

      Aaaaak!! 11-12″ of snow! 1-2″ is all we usually get and it’s awful! My Mom lives in Idaho and they measure their snow in feet, not inches. Yuck!! Thanks for the nice compliments on my flamingo, Debbie! 🙂

      Reply

      • Debbie Adams
        Jan 27, 2011 @ 12:17:24

        OMG! Does she get it like that every year? Last year we got 35-36″ of snow, (to put ft. more politely, hehe.) Then a week later we got an additional 18″ on top of that. It was a nightmare that does not happen every year. Well..I’ve avoided it long enough, best get out in the garage and pick up my shovel. After I all that darn bulky clothing of course….Oh summer, where art thou! Once it warms up enough. I’m out of here and off to the beach to read my books in the sand.

      • Beth Parker
        Jan 27, 2011 @ 15:55:26

        I know! I want summer, too!! 🙂

  6. christinax lee
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 10:41:47

    one very cool pair of shoes on the pink lady.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

