Beagle Puppy

“Once we believe in ourselves, we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight, or any experience that reveals the human spirit.”
– e. e. cummings

Beagle Puppy

6″ x 6″ Watercolor

I hosted the WDE over the weekend at WetCanvas.  I gave myself permission to paint just for the pure joy of it.  I had the best time!!  I love this little puppy.  I imagine I will paint him again.  I painted him in an hour and put him on a birthday card for my neighbor, Sue.  I did three other paintings, so I’ll have some fresh content for my blog this week.  😀

There are some great reference photos in the link above, so go look and see if there is something you’d enjoy painting.  I included hi res links for each photo.  You don’t have to participate on WetCanvas.  Just enjoy the refs.

About e. e. cummings

The writer who became known as e. e. cummings was an experimental poet whose idiosyncratic typography complements the music of his poetry; he published more than 900 poems, two novels, and four plays. He was also an accomplished painter. He was born in Massachusetts in 1894 and entered the ambulance corps in World War I but ended up in a detention camp after expressing his pacifist views. He died in 1962. “In Just-” was his most famous poem.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 20:55:09

    oh, oh, oh, I cannot stand the cuteness of this puppy!

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 20:28:20

    I clicked on the puppy photo the other day and saved him for future reference, Beth. Your painting is full of color and good life. You have quite a way with eyes, also! Love this.

    Reply

  3. Joan T
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 13:16:23

    Great job on the puppy!!! I’ve been trying to get into WC today, but can’t! I thought they fixed all the problems. I had fun doing your WDE. I just wish I had more time to do a few more references.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Dec 06, 2010 @ 14:17:46

      Thanks, Joan! I had a great time on my WDE, too! It felt good to play again. 🙂

      I was on WC earlier today. I didn’t have any problems. I just checked it again… no problems. I hope you can get on.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

