Happy Thanksgiving!

“Life loves to be taken by the lapel and told: ‘I’m with you kid. Let’s go.’
– Maya Angelou

I just wanted to say Happy Thanksgiving!   I’m spending mine with my husband and about thirty friends.  We’ll raise the lift in our friend Jerry’s Boat repair shop and spread food enough for an army on it.  It’s a wonderful day and our fifth Thanksgiving with these friends.

My Mom is with my brother and his family in Blackfoot, Idaho and my sister will have her brood all around her in Oak Harbor, Washington.  My step-mom will have her daughter and her friends with her in Overland Park, Kansas.  I’ve got my family in my thoughts and know they are carrying on some of those wonderful traditions that I remember so well from my childhood.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and stay safe!  🙂

Beth

About Maya Angelou

American poet and author Maya Angelou is best known for her autobiography, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. She was born in St. Louis in 1928 and grew up in rural Arkansas. Due to her activism, Martin Luther King asked her to take a leadership position in his organization. In 1993, at President Clinton’s request, she wrote and performed a poem at his inauguration. She has also directed films and appeared on television. She teaches at Wake Forest University.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 12:29:18

    Happy Thanksgiving, Beth!!

    Reply

  2. Carol King
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 12:06:54

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. It sounds like you will have a great day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

