Masters Study – Georges Seurat Crop

“The gain in self-confidence of having accomplished a tiresome labour is immense.”
Arnold Bennett

Brian Tracy (author of Eat That Frog) calls that “Eating the Biggest, Ugliest frog first”.  I’m learning that he’s right.  It’s hard to put in to practice, but I’m trying to get better at it.
.
Masters Study – Georges Seurat Crop
2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor ATC
.
A link to the George Seurat original is here.  Another one that is much harder than it looks.  Being so new to painting, after a thirty year break, I tried to pick images that would be easier to copy.  HA!  Boy did I learn a lot!  😀
.
Well, I bit the bullet last week and decided to go to the Altlanta Americasmart License & Design show.  I am sure Art Licensing is the direction I want to go with my art, so I made a commitment to get my feet wet.  I am not exhibiting, just observing and networking.  I spent all day Sunday, working on additional collections of art.  It’s going to be very exciting!  🙂
.
Imagine me “wiggling my butt” if you dare!  he he

.

About Arnold Bennett

Popular British novelist Arnold Bennett wrote more than 30 well-received novels, including The Old Wives Tale, the fictional life story of two sisters. He was born in 1867 in Hanley, in the heart of the six Staffordshire towns known as the Potteries. Although he left as an adult, settling in London and then Paris, he set much of his fiction in his birthplace, giving the novels a gritty realist texture. He died in 1931.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 22:44:09

    Hi Beth, sorry I haven’t commented on some of your Masters’ studies but I’ve been enjoying them all. Really makes me want to try some.

    I like your Seurat. I like Seurat’s Seurat.

    Good for you for checking out the Art License and Design show. That sounds like a great idea and I can actually envision many of your pieces on cards, mugs, paper, etc.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 17, 2010 @ 06:50:38

      Thanks so much, Carol! No problem on not commenting. I’ve been so busy that I haven’t been around to the blogs much. I have to walk away from my computer to get work done. I can easily get lost for hours. 😉

      Thanks for the comment on the licensing. I think it’s for me. 😀

      Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 19:06:57

    I like your copy better than the original. To me Seurat’s work is sterile, too pristine and clean. Life is not like that. I like your color and love the portion of the painting you chose. This guy has always made me laugh.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 13:36:39

    Beautiful and bright rendition of Seurat, Beth. What amazed me about his work is, when I stood up close to the one at the Art Museum in Chicago, I couldn’t see the images for all the dashes and dots of paint. As I slowly backed off of it, everything came together. Plus his painting was HUGE!!!!
    Don’t have a clue what licensing art is….I assume it is to market your paintings on cards and things like that through mass production? Wish you the best!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 15, 2010 @ 14:19:27

      Thanks, Leslie! WOW, I would love to see his art up close. It looks so smooth from a distance. Art licensing is licensing my art to manufacturers of all kinds of products. Can you see it in your head…. on maybe coffee mugs or party supplies? Wrapping paper or fabric? Anything is possible, I think. I don’t think I’ll be able to lift a 4′ x 8′ sign board when I’m in my 80’s, so I’m planning ahead. 😀

      Reply

  4. christinax lee
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 09:39:46

    Hi Beth – Lazymother is still not functional but headed that way. I like your blog a lot and am curious to find out more about your problems with Seurat (dotdotdotdotdotdotdotdotdotdot, I image). As for Bennett, he’s in for a revival perhaps; he’s not on my list right now, but the Old Wives Tale is definitely a potential. What interests you about him? Chris Lee

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 15, 2010 @ 10:34:37

      Seurat interests me because of the almost dreamlike feel. Everything is so smooth and serene. When I did this, I was doing an ATC exchange (2.5″ x 3.5″) on the Masters. It was 2008 and I was really green! I did 24, I think. Thanks so much for coming by to comment! I enjoy your comments on the 100 day Challenge. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

