Masters Study – Paul Cezanne – Pines and Rocks

“We either make ourselves miserable, or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same.”
– Carlos Castaneda

Masters Study – Paul Cezanne – Pines and Rocks

2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor & Gouache ATC

A link to the original is here.  This was fun!    It’s funny when I type that.  Have you ever seen me say “This wasn’t a bit fun.”?  ha ha ha  The part I like is all the bursts of color in this painting.

About Carlos Castaneda

Carlos Castaneda, the Peruvian-born new age writer, is known for his book series about his apprenticeship with Don Juan Matus, the Toltec shaman, including A Separate Reality and Journey to Ixtlan. The books are about the nature of perception and include many hallucinatory experiences. It is unknown how much of his writing was factual. He wrote the first three books as an anthropology student at UCLA, and they quickly gained cult success. He was born in 1925 and died in 1998.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 20:24:47

    I looked at this and thought Cezanne? There is something very “YOU” in this one. I flipped back and forth between the original and this and decided that there is something you do that is very like Cezanne. Look at the lines on either side of the tree trunks and in and about the rocks. You and Cezanne have that in common. Yep…you both like color, too! Very interesting, Beth.
    Really like the quote and I agree that it is oftentimes, too hard to be miserable.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 11, 2010 @ 08:38:38

      Wow, that’s neat! Yes, I can see the similarities. The part I like is that I have developed enough of a style that it can be recognized and perhaps compared to something painted by a Master!! I may need to study Cezanne a little more. Thanks so much for your comment, Leslie! 🙂

      Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 18:48:03

    Beth, this painting almost has a stained glass look to it. Very nice. And I love the quote…isn’t it true! We do it to ourselves.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 11, 2010 @ 08:40:34

      Thanks, Linda. I wake up every day strong and happy, but I sure am busting my butt trying to be stronger and better. Even though there are days I dream of being lazy, I know it’s not really me and I probably couldn’t pull it off for more than a couple hours. ha ha 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

