Halloween Blog Challenge

“I was always looking outside myself for strength and confidence, but it comes from within. It is there all the time.”
Anna Freud

Halloween Party

5″ x 6″ Watercolor and Sharpie


Today is the day of the Halloween Blog Challenge.  An invitation went out within our blogger group (that means you!) to paint or create something Halloweeny.  Post it on your blog and comment here, with a link to your blog, so we’ll know where to go look at everyon’s art.

Ryan, from asmalltowndad blog, is away on his annual Halloween camp-out.   He did an amazing painting and you can go see it here.  You’ll LOVE it!!  I did, and I have flies buzzing around my head in it.  😀

I have had a lot of fun this week, doing all these little paintings.  I like the fun and playful side of Halloween.  When I lived in Huntington Beach, CA, there was always a party.  I have great memories of those parties.  I lived in a neighborhood close to the beach, where most of my neighbors were in their 20’s.  We made Halloween a fun holiday.

Now, I understand that the same (average income) young couples could probably not afford to live where we lived and the houses we lived in have probably been replaced by taller, fancier homes.  I was lucky to have that time in my life.  It was a terrific place to spend my 20’s.  We also had St. Patrick’s day parties, Cinco De Mayo, 4th of July….. you get the idea.  Yeah, we had fun! 🙂

About Anna Freud

Austrian psychoanalyst Anna Freud was a pioneer in the field of child psychiatry; she also worked closely with her father, Sigmund Freud, in developing his theories. She was born in Vienna in 1895 and fled to London with her parents in 1938, escaping the Nazi regime. When her father became sick with cancer, she took over his studies, becoming his intellectual heir. She founded the Hampstead Clinic to work with children. She died in 1982.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 07:24:30

    I’m back and feeling all outdoorsy, including the poison ivy tracks left from cutting lumber for our rip roaring fire all weekend. Cool painting Beth and after all the food that I ate this weekend, I feel like the person dressed in the pumpkin outfit, only with out the outfit! Thanks for your challenge and the comments on mine. You gals are all to cute to be zombies and it made it tuff!

    Reply

  2. napabelle
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 09:59:39

    Here goes, Beth, my day on Halloween,
    http://napabelle.wordpress.com/2010/10/31/halloween-day-at-the-cemetery/
    Clever idea ! Fun to see what everyone does !

    Reply

  3. Rick Daddario
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 16:08:08

    aloha and cool Beth. yeah, you’ve been creating some great Halloween works recently – and fun (i’m just not getting here often enough!*).

    i took you up on a non-scary focus (or at least i tried to, …my sense of humor can be a little twisted scary sometimes…). . . and thanks to Leslie i am posting for your challenge here:

    http://19planets.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/halloween-humor-and-a-challenge-response/

    i’ve been having fun with some Halloween Seasonal posts too – at least a few…

    Halloween fun on all ya’ll.

    (*my net connection is improving but i’m still working on it so i’m not yet back enough to get around a lot – it’s just a very slow page loader issue)

    Reply

  4. Joan T
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 11:20:47

    Love your Halloween themed paintings!!! The others that have been linked on the blog are great too. Happy Halloween!!!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Beth Parker’s Halloween Challenge « Leslie White
  6. lesliepaints
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 08:48:33

    Great challenge, Beth. Love the Halloween party complete with costumed doggy! The shape you chose for the giant “pumpking” is perfect. I always try to find those odd shaped ones that display a little character. I took you up on the challenge and have posted here: http://lesliepaints.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/beth-parkers-halloween-challenge/
    Happy Halloween!

    Reply

  7. Carol King
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 08:20:59

    oh, I meant pumpkin, not pumpking. That would be me at halloween….a PUMPKING! LOL!

    Reply

  8. Carol King
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 08:20:20

    Beth, as usual you have a wonderful Halloween post. I love your pumpking, ghost and goblins. You spoke about all the parties you had in CA. I have a feeling a party follows you where ever you go! 🙂

    I also just saw Ryan’s Halloween post and it was fantastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

