Father and Son

“We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful what we pretend to be.”
– Kurt Vonnegut

Father and Son

4″ x 6″ Watercolor Postcard

I never said I was a portrait artist.   (I’m not even pretending to be.)  This is actually pretty awful, but in the spirit of fun and family, I decided to post it.

My niece, Chelsi, is an amazing photographer.  She posted some wonderful photographs of her little family’s trip to a Washington pumpkin farm, on her Facebook wall.  I got her permission to paint anything I wanted from those photos.  I hope she’ll forgive me for what I did to her husband and son.  😀

I promise, Chelsi….. better paintings to come.  he he he

About Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut, the acerbic American author, rose to fame with the novel Slaughterhouse-Five, loosely based on his experiences as a prisoner of war during the World War II bombing of Dresden. He was born in 1922 in Indianapolis. His fiction, a blend of science fiction and satire, became hugely successful in the 1960’s. Three of his seven children are his sister’s, adopted after her husband died in a train wreck and she died of cancer a day later. He lived in New York until his death in 2007.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 17:41:45

    I was going to stay that the Dad looks very matter-of-fact. Now that I know He’s military I understand his expression. The baby is a cutie and everyone looks like they are having a very satisfying day. Lovely and brave word. Portraits are HARD!

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 08:47:47

    I like figurative and portrait art in any style and any skill level, Beth. I think everyone who attempts it, at first, rushes for that photographic reality of a likeness. As time goes on, they begin to see there is so much more to a person than that. I like your Father and Son, above. The expression says it all! Family, a good time and an artist willing to dive in there and record that moment in paint. Great job!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Oct 19, 2010 @ 09:35:39

      Thanks so much, Leslie! I really loved this photo. David is a tough military guy and I just love this shot of the two of them together. I have never met either of them, but I see photos often. I was really tempted to be a little more illustrative and maybe now, with your wonderful encouragement, I may try it. Doesn’t his face just cry out for it? Thanks again! ((hug)) 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

