Santa’s Errands

Santa's Errands

“To play it safe is not to play.”
Robert Altman

Santa’s Errands

7.5″ x 10.5″ Watercolor

This painting was done from a photo of a statue in the London Bus Depot by Artastic at WDE.    Of course, I had my way with him and he became Santa, running his pre-holiday errands.  It was fun to do.  I have been playing with Santa stuff, trying to come up with this year’s Christmas cards.  🙂

I am still having problems with WordPress and Firefox.  I am unable to use the uploader or the tags.  I’m over in Internet Explorer, trying to get a blog post done.  I’m crossing my fingers that it’ll work.

About Robert Altman

Robert Altman, the iconoclastic American filmmaker known for his naturalistic, multi-character dramas, has directed many acclaimed feature films, including M*A*S*H, Nashville, and The Player. He was born in 1925 in Kansas City, Missouri, to a socially prominent family. Alfred Hitchcock gave Altman his big break when he hired him to direct on the TV series Alfred Hitchcock Presents. Actors say they love to work with Altman because he gives them freedom to improvise. He died in 2006.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erik R Davis
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 07:25:53

    Great looking Santa! I think anybody who got that for a Holiday card would be thrilled!

    Reply

  2. Mary Moore
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 18:25:15

    Ahh, I see I am not the only one trying to come up with something for Christmas. I like your Santa and his looking for his raindeer to pick him up. Do they eat carrots? I would think you would have him flying a plane this year. LOL….

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 07:55:20

      Hi Mary! Yeah, I thought about the plane. The reindeer might be jealous! ha ha ha The carrots were EP’s idea. I was drawing a blank on the sign and asked for suggestions in my WDE post. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Alex Zonis
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 18:16:35

    He is so cute! And seems to be caught in candid shot! Wonderfully believable!

    Reply

  4. Carol King
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 14:51:33

    Santa??? Already??? I’m not ready for Santa yet.

    But I do like your version of Santa in his green and red suit looking all business like. You are so fun.

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 13:58:54

    Very business-like Santa, I would say. Reindeer pick up is creative and fun…..Hope they come to get him!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Oct 11, 2010 @ 14:03:06

      Thanks, Leslie! I thought he looked like he had come from business meetings, but that just sounded too dull. He is sure watching for the reindeer, so I hope they get him too. After all, he’s not there to sing the reindeer song. (There is a reindeer song, right?) 😀

      Reply

      • lesliepaints
        Oct 11, 2010 @ 15:31:42

        Oh Yes, in answer to your question. I had the record of “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer” and to hear my parents tell the story, I sang it year round! 🙂

      • Beth Parker
        Oct 11, 2010 @ 16:35:08

        That’s it!! I don’t know if Reindeer can fly without that song in their heads. 😉
        You sang it all year long? Oh what a fun child you must have bee, Leslie!

Leave a Reply

