Watching The Dawn

“In reading the lives of great men, I found that the first victory they won was over themselves… self-discipline with all of them came first.”

 –Harry S. Truman

Watching The Dawn

6″ x 12″ x 1.5″ Acrylic on Gallery Wrapped Canvas

I am still not convinced that the bull doesn’t need more color.  Hmmmmm….. What color do you think?

Well, whatever the problem with my photo uploading is, it’s with Firefox.  Internet Explorer is working just fine.  Thanks to the nice WordPress Happiness Engineer, Maoko, for helping me figure that out.  How do you like that job title… Happiness Engineer.   I LOVE it!

 

Harry S. Truman

Harry S. Truman (May 8, 1884 – December 26, 1972) was the 33rd President of the United States (1945–1953). As President Franklin D. Roosevelt‘s third vice-president and the 34th Vice President of the United States, he succeeded to the presidency on April 12, 1945, when President Roosevelt died less than three months after beginning his historic fourth term.  More…http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harry_S._Truman

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 20:30:32

    I like today’s quote and am still laughing at the title “happiness engineer”. Gotta love wordpress for that one.

    I think the bull needs more color. As far as which one…c’mon Beth, you are the COLOR QUEEN. I have no doubt you will come up with the BEST color for him.

    Reply

  2. Alex Zonis
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 11:50:12

    I like the painting and I like the bull white as he is. The white separates him from the background and brings him closer forward as in a holographic image. A very nice effect I think.

    Reply

  3. Joan T
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 09:59:14

    With the white he definitely stands out amid all that color! Nicely done.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 09:10:08

    I like this very much as it is. I remember reading about the white buffalo spirit. Why not a white longhorn? Who would not like the ghostlike presence suggesting the expanse of time and place? I like it white. It makes my eye go to him, immediately, and then follow his gaze. Pretty good use of composition, I think. 🙂

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Oct 08, 2010 @ 09:39:41

      Thanks so much, Leslie! I had only the longhorn ref and made up the rest…. imagine that! ha ha ha

      I like the idea of the pure white – ghost like presence. I considered the opposite, as well. Painting him black. That would definitely have to be a new painting, as Rick suggested. I wouldn’t want to go that far with this one.

      I do have two more 24″ x 48″ blank canvases, asking for paint.

      Reply

  5. Rick Daddario
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 08:13:49

    oh. yeah. i like it.

    imo – the value of the bull is right. so in that sense a number of colors would/could/might work. personally…. i like it like this. of course… i might like another version too – or even more if i saw it.

    if i get to lingering on a decision like this for too long, i think it becomes time for me to do another one and try a different option on it. that way i can compare but i dont loose the one i like as it is…

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Oct 08, 2010 @ 08:42:40

      Thanks, Rick. I just set it aside for a while. I think I am too distracted to let it flow, so over the weekend when I am more centered, I will look at it again and see what happens. You may have the right idea about just doing another one. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

