Jeepney

“A bad habit never disappears miraculously; it’s an undo-it-yourself project.”
– Abigail Van Buren

Jeepney

4″ x 6″ Watercolor

A Jeepney is a common Filipino transport.  Agnesdale from WetCanvas posted it for us to paint last weekend.  I enjoyed doing this so much.  I used teensy little brushes and paid close attention to the details.  I did the “chrome” last, because I realized that I didn’t know how to do chrome.    I think this little painting took me over 4 hours.  It drew me in and kept me entertained.  🙂

My friend May is from Cebu, in the Philippines.   Her husband tells me that they take army surplus jeeps and attach stuff all over them, like the Mercedes emblem.  He said they are wonderfully gawdy and filled with people.  You have to love that!

About Abigail Van Buren

Pauline Phillips, better known as Abigail Van Buren, wrote the syndicated “Dear Abby” column for 46 years. She was born in 1918 in Iowa. She had never written professionally when she contacted the San Francisco Chronicle’s editor and said she could do better than their current advice maven. Her version was an instant success. Her twin sister, Esther Lederer, became an advice columnist under the name Ann Landers. Phillips retired in 2002; her daughter, Jeanne Phillips, took over her column.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Groups want P8 minimum jeepney fare in Cebu « Cebu Live!
  2. lesliepaints
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 21:28:33

    This Jeepney looks like she’s alive!! Way cool on all the detail in such a small format and interesting about how the locals decorate these.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 17:41:02

    Gosh, this has so much detail and color. Excellent work!

    Reply

  4. Joan T
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 09:19:12

    Love the pink and the shine to the chrome!!! I scrolled down to see what I missed and I just am agog over those striped high heels!!!

    We are finally home from Venice, so my computer time should expand. I have a lot of catching up to do and many, many paintings to post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

