Lions for the Artswebshow Challenge

Perhaps the most valuable result of all education is the ability to make yourself do the thing you have to do, when it ought to be done, whether you like it or not; it is the first lesson that ought to be learned; and however early a man’s training begins, it is probably the last lesson that he learns thoroughly.

– Thomas H. Huxley, 1825-1895

The Shy Lion

4″ x 6″ Watercolor

We have been invited to a challenge over at the Artswebshow blog, to paint or draw this lion.  I painted this one first and thought he looked kinda sweet and shy.  Then….

The Cowardly Lion

4″ x 6″ Watercolor

I think this one looks like the Cowardly Lion on The Wizard of Oz.  I quit while I was ahead.   Then….

The Lion in Bethville

4″ x 6″ Watercolor

This one felt more like me.  I had a great time doing this.  If you want to see a terrific lion, go over to Leslie White’s blog and see hers.  It’s amazing!  There may be more, but I have been so busy that I haven’t been able to get around and visit my favorite blogs.  I’m going to try to make some time, because they always brighten my day!  🙂

Thomas H. Huxley

Thomas Henry Huxley PC FRS (4 May 1825 – 29 June 1895) was an English biologist, known as “Darwin’s Bulldog” for his advocacy of Charles Darwin’s theory of evolution.[1]

Huxley’s famous 1860 debate with Samuel Wilberforce was a key moment in the wider acceptance of evolution, and in his own career. Huxley had been planning to leave Oxford on the previous day, but, after an encounter with Robert Chambers, the author of Vestiges, he changed his mind and decided to join the debate. Wilberforce was coached by Richard Owen, against whom Huxley also debated whether humans were closely related to apes.   More…..

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alonso
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 16:46:18

    Great water color paintings and I love the contrasting back grounds. I am trying some of my own water coloring painting that is.

    Reply

  2. Rick Daddario
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 12:13:36

    aloha Beth – before i read what you said about your lions my take on them was:

    – the first lion looked grand and fatherly to me.
    – the second lion felt wise and majestic
    – the third lion was my favorite and yeah, it feels like you! which is way cool imo because i like the idea that our art is about us being our self.

    Reply

  3. opoetoo
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 10:50:40

    I like your Cowardly Lion the best of all the entries at
    the Artsweb show and I am not scared to say it,well maybe a little 🙂

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Arts web show art challenge, the entries. « The Arts Web Show
  5. Artswebshow
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 15:29:07

    Sorry i didn’t catch this when you posted it.
    But i see it now and wow.
    I like it.
    Probably the last one most because of the colour choice

    Reply

  6. Carol King
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 08:14:11

    overachiever! I couldn’t even do one lion and you do three!!!! (In fairness, I’ve been sick for the past three weeks, so maybe I’ll try it now.)

    I love all your lions but your Bethville Lion is just perfect. So you!

    Reply

  7. lesliepaints
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 15:17:58

    Three!!! Isn’t it fun how you can do the same thing over and over and it always looks different? I like all your versions but my favorite is the top one. I think I like the texture of the background against the glow of his face in that one. Super, Beth! ..and each of them on a 4×6 format. I would go bonkers trying to paint in that small a space! 🙂
    Thank-you for the link!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 31, 2010 @ 15:25:14

      Thanks so much, Leslie! I haven’t had time to do as much painting as I like lately, so going small gives me the opportunity to do more paintings. I had fun with this one! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

