Scottish Castle

“I can’t give you a sure-fire formula for success, but I can give you a formula for failure: Try to please everybody all the time.”
– Herbert Bayard Swope

Scottish Castle

4″ x 6″ Watercolor

The image for this painting came from agnesdale at WetCanvas.  She is currently living in Scotland.  I had fun with this painting.  I may not have gotten very close to the reference castle, but I had a great time!  🙂

About Herbert Bayard Swope

Herbert Bayard Swope, the colorful, hard-driving American journalist who became famous as a war correspondent and editor of The New York World, was the first writer to win a Pulitzer Prize for reporting. He was born in St. Louis in 1882. He coined the phrase “cold war” as a speechwriter for statesman Bernard Baruch. In his leisure time, he was a brilliant gambler at the track, at cards, and at stocks, and threw lavish parties. He died in 1958.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 06:42:51

    Love the colors…Scotland is NOT all rain and mist. Well done!

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 09:51:24

    I didn’t even look at the photo reference for this, Beth. Your castle suits me just fine. I like the colors you chose and all the texture you built up in the trees.

    Your quote is so true. How many times do people offer what not to do instead of point out the positives? Cool post this morning!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 30, 2010 @ 09:59:30

      Thanks, Leslie! I really like the quote, too. I have tried to please everybody all my life. I decided that terrible trait had to go, several years ago. I’m so much happier! It’s terribly draining. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

