Candy Cane Shoes

“No great deed, private or public, has ever been undertaken in a bliss of certainty.”
– Leon Wieseltier

Candy Cane Shoes

2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor ATC

I can no longer wear high heels.  I just simply forgot how to walk in them.  But…. If I could, I would so wear these!  Aren’t they fun?  I painted them so long ago that I can’t remember where I got the photo, but I like these shoes.  🙂

For  many years, I lived in high heels and business suits.  When I moved to Oklahoma in 1988, I didn’t even own a pair of jeans.  Now I live in jeans, shorts, flip flops and tennies.    I still don’t wear sweats unless I’m really sick or we have an ice storm and the power goes off.  Sometimes you just have to have comfort clothes.  he he

About Leon Wieseltier

Leon Wieseltier, the sharp-tongued literary editor of The New Republic, has used his role to deliver brilliant, scathing put-downs of intellectual fads and pretense. He was born in Brooklyn in 1952. He studied Jewish history and philosophy at Columbia, Oxford, and Harvard’s Society of Fellows. He won the National Jewish Book Award for the memoir Kaddish, about his year of mourning after his father’s death.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 14:00:08

    Beth, like you I spent years in business clothes, including heels…and like you I say NO MORE! These shoes look like ones that Oprah would wear, lovely, fashion forward but not for me. Your painting is really great. And so much fun.

    Reply

  2. Carol King
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 14:20:56

    hey, I had those shoes in the 70’s! Love the painting. Can no longer wear shoes like that. And no longer want to. I will not wear high heels ever again until men wear them. So there.

    Reply

  3. Artswebshow
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 11:36:42

    Lol, cool shoes.
    Nicely painted too
    I prefer clothes for comfort.
    My clothes are very comforty. lol

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 08:13:57

    I suppose I could wear them but I won’t. The first time I tried a pair on? I decided NOT FOR ME! Spent my life finding employment that was not based on a pre-set notion of what I had to look like other than clean and tidy.
    BUT! Lovely candy-striped shoe painting and hats off to any woman who has responded to the call of fashion!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 27, 2010 @ 08:34:07

      Thanks, Leslie. When I was wearing the suits, I was trying to fit into business in a man’s world. Suits were more like a uniform. I’m 53, so you probably know what era I’m talking about. Women were mostly secretaries in my industry of electronic board level components. I was in marketing and often ran meetings where the only other woman in the room was bringing us coffee. The shoes were the only “personal” parts of the uniform. Seems like a lifetime ago. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

