Little Pink House

“We strain to renew our capacity for wonder, to shock ourselves into astonishment once again.”
– Shana Alexander

Little Pink House

8″ x 4″ Acrylic on Gallery Wrapped Canvas

This is painted from a WetCanvas WDE reference photo by Valri Ary.  It’s in Barbados and Valri and I went there together in September of 2008.    It was so wonderful and it’s hard to believe it’s already been two years ago.

I also live in a pink house.  (It was my husband’s idea.  hehehe)  It sits on a hill overlooking Lake Eufaula and has  become a landmark from the water.  “Go the the pink house and turn left to go to the dam or turn right to go to No. 9 Marina.”  Last weekend, someone told us they have been calling it the Mary Kay house.  We’ve been in it for 5 years and that’s the first time we have heard that one!  😀

Here are some other views of this little painting.

Look here to see the beginning of a 2′ x 4′ version of this.

About Shan a Alexander

Shana Alexander, the pioneering American journalist who was the first female staff writer at Life magazine, was best known for her combative “Point-Counterpoint” segments with conservative James Kilpatrick on 60 Minutes, which became fodder for a long-running Saturday Night Live spoof. She was born in 1925 in New York City. Her first assignment as a journalist was to interview the stripper Gypsy Rose Lee. She wrote several nonfiction books, mostly true crime accounts. She died in 2005.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 16:44:21

    why am I not surprised you live in a pink house!!! I love this painting, it’s as cheery as you are.

    Congratulations on your commission. Have you ever worked that large? I will think about what you should charge, but my first instinct is a million dollars. 🙂

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 09:14:05

    This is a “TRUE” Beth Parker. It was a colorful landscape of buildings that first caught my eye over a year ago on your site. This one is so colorful it is blinding. No wonder they use pink houses as landmarks!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 09:24:39

      Awwww, Thanks, Leslie! That means a lot to me. I have been playing all over the place, trying to find my voice and it feels good that this style is finally one that people recognize as a Beth Parker painting. I am starting to hear that more and I am tickled “pink”. 😀

      Valri’s boyfriend wants to commission an 18″ x 48″ painting of this one. I don’t have a clue what to charge. I will appreciate all thoughts on this. I am also a little afraid of the chairs in a larger painting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

