Innocent Cat

“Nothing will ever be attempted if all possible objections must first be overcome.”
– Samuel Johnson

Innocent Cat

4″ x 4″ Acrylic on Ampersand Clayboard

I promise, it started off innocent enough.

Really…. it did.

Do you ever wonder what makes an artist take the turns they take in a painting?  Well, I think you know better than to try to figure out where my head is, but I think this is a perfect example of an innocent beginning gone crazy.

Did I have fun?  You bet! 😀

About Samuel Johnson

Samuel Johnson, the sharp-witted British essayist, wrote the first English language dictionary; his definitions still form the backbone of current dictionaries. He was born in Staffordshire in 1709. Johnson married a widow 20 years his senior and lived in poverty before achieving success with his essays when he was in his forties. Later in life, he befriended the young James Boswell, whose Life of Johnson became the quintessential English biography. Johnson died in 1784.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 15:00:53

    I have to say I laughed when I saw your (not so) innocent cat. Love it when you go crazy.

    Reply

  2. thewhiteswan
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 12:07:08

    Love it! I’m glad it didn’t stay innocent at all!
    Karen

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 09:52:44

    I really like seeing the progression, here, Beth. I think your vision is wonderful. I have a ceramic pick, pretty large, that a friend of my Grandmother’s gave to her, many years ago. It has all the colors and shapes you have on this cat. I treasure that thing. The color, the shapes just have to come from someone special. That’s what I think when I look at your cat, today.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 26, 2010 @ 09:58:57

      Awwww, Thanks, Leslie! That’s so nice of you to say. This cat laid in the studio all day Saturday, in the purple and pink state. I knew it was a blank canvas, so to speak. About 9 pm, I went back in there and the flowers just flowed onto the painting. It was really cool how it happened. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

