Cone Flower

“We cannot swing up on a rope that is attached only to our own belt.”
– William Ernest Hocking

Cone Flower

5″ x 7″ Golden Fluid Acrylic on Ampersand Aqua Board panel

My favorite artist, Don Tiller, uses blue trees a lot, but I haven’t quite pulled it off.  This may get re-worked.  😀

Here it is after some small changes…

I am hosting the WDE in the All Media Art Events forum on WetCanvas this weekend.    If you have never participated in the WDE (Weekend Drawing Event) you may want to try it.  We paint with a 2 hour time period in mind.  We don’t have to finish our piece in 2 hrs, but we post our progress at 2 hours if we aren’t done.  It’s fun.

The AMAE forum is actually where I learned to paint again after a 30 year absence.  I have only been painting now for 3 years and I have grown in leaps and bounds, thanks to my generous friends at WetCanvas.  They have given me so much encouragement!    Give it a try.  🙂

About William Ernest Hocking

William Ernest Hocking, the idealist American philosopher, wrote 17 books, mostly on the philosophy of religion in modern life, and taught philosophy at Harvard for 29 years. He was born in 1873 in Cleveland to devout parents of modest means, and it took him ten years to finish college while working. In his books, he explored mysticism and the nature of God as well as the conflict in the Middle East. He died in 1966.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolKing
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 10:17:55

    OMG! Love the cone flower. And thanks for the link to Don Tiller. You had given it to me once, but I forgot about. I really love his work.

    I find the Wet Canvas website to be appallingly poorly designed. I joined but can’t navigate it at all.

    Thanks for the link to that too. I love your photos. If I can’t do the challenge off the site can I paint from one of your photos anyway?

    I can’t believe the picture of your main street. It looks like something out of the ’50’s. Where are the people?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 17, 2010 @ 10:55:37

      Carol, I took this photo of Main Street at about 6 am on the 4th of July. Everyone was home nursing hangovers, I presume. 😀 By the way, you can paint from my photos any time. I’d love to see what you do with them. Thanks for your nice comments, always!

      Reply

  2. Artswebshow
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 15:24:50

    that’s a really cool piece.
    It looks like fun

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 10:48:16

    I am going to have to sit down and try and figure wet canvas out. All I could seem to muster is to learn how to use the reference library. That site is confusing!!!!
    Love the quote today. It made me laugh and your flowers are extremely looking at us! I like that!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 16, 2010 @ 10:59:41

      Thanks, Leslie! If you want, you can just go to the reference image library and do a search for signchick (that’s me) and the photos I uploaded will come up. There is one I want to show Ryan. It’s the baby hand. It’s right down his alley. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

