Best Friends

“A ship in port is safe, but that’s not what ships are built for.”
– Grace Murray Hopper

Best Friends

5″ x 7″ Acrylic on Canvas

Can you tell I have been enjoying the acrylics a lot lately?  I am lingering in this phase longer than I usually do, but I’m having a great time!

Here is the base coat ….

I also tweaked the Trio of Birds and I am happier with it.  I applied more layers and took the yellow off one of the bird’s feet.

The original post of the birds can be found here.

About Grace Murray Hopper

Rear Admiral Grace Murray Hopper, the American computer pioneer, was the first woman to become a Distinguished Fellow of the British Computer Society. She was born in 1906 in New York. By age seven, she was taking alarm clocks apart to see how they worked. She worked for the U.S. Navy developing the first compiler, which allowed people to write computer programs in real language rather than machine code. When she found a moth inside a computer, she coined the term “debugging.” She died in 1992.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolKing
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 10:10:41

    Awww, love the kitty and the doggy. I agree with you and Leslie that it looks like the dog is being very protective.

    I just realized why I love these golden fluid acrylic paintings of yours…they remind me of stained glass. Your revised birds just sings with light.

    I may have to schedule a trip to OK, for a lesson! 🙂

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 17, 2010 @ 10:59:33

      Come on!!! We’d have a great time! When I went to Washington, to take the workshop from Don Tiller, he was amazed that I came all the way from Oklahoma. I knew as soon as I saw his work, I just had to take a workshop if he ever had one I could get away for. I am so happy that I did. I think this was always in me, but needed some coaxing to get it out.

      Thanks for your comment, Carol!

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 09:24:09

    I know why you like the birds, now. They are much brighter color!
    I really like your little dog and the kitty all curled up together on the couch. The cat is all comfortable and snoozing away. Looks like the dog is “on watch”. 🙂

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 15, 2010 @ 09:37:23

      Thanks, Leslie! Sometimes I don’t realize I need more layers until I scan it. I think it’s better. The dog seems to be saying “Don’t you dare wake her up!”. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

