Tobacco Farm

“How I relate to my inner self influences my relationship with all others.  My satisfaction with myself and my satisfaction with other people are directly proportional.”
Sue Atchley Ebaugh

Tobacco Farm

5″ x 7″ Golden Fluid Acrylic on Canvas Panel

I had a great time doing this one.  Again, I started with a black gessoed canvas and drew my lines in with watercolor pencil.  Here is the base coat.

You can see, if you compare the two, that it developed a little differently than it began.  I just played with layers and layers of color, until it felt done.  I have been enjoying the acrylics lately.  I seem to go through phases.  Watercolor / acrylic / watercolor  /acrylic.  No… my head is not spinning.  😀

Sue Atchley Ebaugh

Funny thing happened when I did a yahoo search for her bio.  The first listing was a link to my blog!   It was because I had this sentence on that post…

“I looked up Sue Atchley Ebaugh, but couldn’t really find out anything about her.  She has some great quotes out there, but no bio, that I could find anyway.”

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolKing
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 22:47:08

    I would love to try this. Your paintings always come out so vibrant and happy.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 14, 2010 @ 07:44:32

      Well, I think you should try it, Carol! I’m so glad that my paintings seem happy, because that’s where they come from. I love having a paint brush in my hand!! 😀

      Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 11:56:07

    This reminds me of the time while traveling thru Kentucky I had seen what I thought was a barn on fire, smoke rolling out the top along the roof line, and windows. Of course being the concerned citizen that I am, I put my cape on and jumped into action, and called 911. Did I say concerned citizen hero or DUMB #$$, I was informed by the operator that it is probably a tobacco barn, and that they were smoking the tobacco. She ask if there were any flames or just smoke and I replied, only smoke. Even though I had never seen this before, I still looked like a idiot!

    So thanks Beth… thanks a lot, for bringing back that memory!

    Great painting though!

    Reply

  3. Joan T
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 11:37:26

    I love how you showed the stages of these last two. Great job and super color. I love the chicken too!!

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 08:50:28

    You are to be commended and praised for your ability to be successful in both mediums. Truly a plus!!!!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 13, 2010 @ 09:26:02

      Thanks so much, Leslie. I have too much fun, no matter which way I go. I have tried so many mediums and I keep coming back to watercolor and acrylic. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

