Forgotten Grandeur

“Finish each day and be done with it.  You have done what you could; some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can.  Tomorrow is a new day; you shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Forgotten Grandeur

5″ x 7″ Watercolor

This is a great old house that I succeeded in flattening.  I may have to come back in with some  ink to give it some depth and stonework.  What stopped me is the leaves.  I didn’t want to ink all the leaves.  🙂

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Waldo Emerson is truly the center of the American transcendental movement, setting out most of its ideas and values in a little book, Nature, published in 1836, that represented at least ten years of intense study in philosophy, religion, and literature, and in his First Series of essays.

Born in 1803 to a conservative Unitarian minister, from a long line of ministers, and a quietly devout mother, Waldo–who dropped the “Ralph” in college–was a middle son of whom relatively little was expected. His father died when he was eight, the first of many premature deaths which would shape his life–all three brothers, his first wife at 20, and his older son at 5. Perhaps the most powerful personal influence on him for years was his intellectual, eccentric, and death-obsessed Puritanical aunt, Mary Moody Emerson. Yet Emerson often confessed to an innate optimism, even occasional “silliness.”  More…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolKing
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 11:23:16

    I like old houses. And I like what you did here. Don’t mind the flatness either, but if you want to put some ink on the leaves you can just sort of scribble around the edges and indicate some leaves. Not that it’s needed.

    Glad you left out the dumpster. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Joan T
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 09:10:43

    Old homes have such character. I think that’s why I’m drawn to them too. Give me cracked plaster and missing bricks and I’m interested! lol I like this and can see why you didn’t want to ink the leaves. Great job on the cat below.

    I’ve been so busy trying to get things ready for my Venice trip that I haven’t painted anything except for the scavenger hunt in a few days…that an the intense heat we’re having. Enjoy! I’ll have to remember to subscribe to your newsletter when I get back.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 08:19:40

    Oh. I don’t mind the flatness at all. I am intrigued by the colors and the shapes. …and I love old homes. They are so much more interesting than these new boxes we have come up with.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 08, 2010 @ 08:22:11

      That was a nice thing to say, Leslie! I love the old homes, too! In the reference, there was a fan in the window and a dumpster out front, but I left them out. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

