Beary Pink

We have the power to direct our minds to replace the feelings of being upset, depressed, and fearful with the feeling of inner peace.

–Gerald G. Jampolsky

Beary Pink

5″ x 7″ Watercolor

In this painting, I was practicing something I saw in Don Andrews’ book.  I wet all the paper around the bears and then added colors, tilting the paper to let them run into each other.  It was fun!

I had a great flying lesson last night!  I think I am getting closer to soloing.  My flight instructor is letting me have total control, to see how I work through things that come up.  My landings are getting better and I even stalled the plane (on purpose) at 2000 ft, to practice how it’s supposed to feel in the flare, before the wheels kiss the ground on landing.  It was so cool!!!  I only have 13 hours and I really want to solo soon, so I can get more hours in on the weekend, when my CFI is unavailable.  He doesn’t seem to have much time for me.  🙂

Gerald G. Jampolsky, M.D., a child and adult psychiatrist, is a graduate of Stanford Medical School. In 1975, he founded the first Center for Attitudinal Healing, now a worldwide network with independent centers in over thirty countries. He is an internationally recognized authority in the fields of psychiatry, health, business, and education. Dr. Jampolsky has published extensively, including his best-selling Love Is Letting Go of Fear. He and his wife, psychotherapist and author Diane Cirincione, Ph.D., have worked in forty-nine countries and currently reside in both northern California and Hawaii.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolKing
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 22:53:03

    I, too, have never seen a pink bear, but wish I could someday. The pink, blue and green makes for such a happy painting.

    Your flying lessons sound like fun.

    Another great quote. I may have to visit Dr. Jampolsky for some attitudinal healing. God knows I have a bad attitude.

    Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 08:03:35

    But pink is so much prettier than brown. I LOVE your bears. They are absoluteley fun, whimsical and beautiful!

    Reply

  3. Joan T
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 18:52:05

    I love the colors of the bears!!! Great background too.

    It must be so exciting to fly a plane. I’m sure I would enjoy it, since I really love being up in the air. I envy you!

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 17:20:59

    You are actually getting the color thing! I just finished the second day of my Don Andrews workshop. He is incredible and I am adding to what I have learned from him. That is why I have not been surfing the blogs much the last few days. Love the pink bears! I, too, am working with these granular washes he speaks of. I will share thru posts as soon as I get done.
    Stalling in the air! Phew, stalling would scare me royally and I’d probably get air sick.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 01, 2010 @ 17:30:58

      Thanks, Leslie! I haven’t been on the blogs much either. Work is so crazy busy! On the stalling, I was concentrating too hard on the feeling to be scared. 🙂

      Reply

  5. asmalltowndad
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 12:09:44

    I love watching the colors bleed and blending creating things you’re not expecting. But pink bears, I want some of what ever you have been taking!
    Be safe flying, we need more pink animals in the future.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 01, 2010 @ 13:00:35

      Thanks, Ryan! I don’t really have an aversion to brown. Really I don’t. I have some very lovely browns. Maybe there’s some sort of magnetic force in my pink and purple paints that draws my brush magically their way? 😀 By the way…. my secret ingredient is coffee. Drinking it, that is. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

