Party Pineapple

“Always do the things you fear the most. Courage is an acquired taste, like caviar.”
– Erica Jong

Try as I might, I have never acquired a taste for caviar!  …bleck!  😕

Party Pineapple

4″ x 4″ x 1.5″ Acrylic on Gallery Wrap Canvas

This little painting was fun!  This is the second of three for the Art House Co-op “The Canvas Project 3”.   I received 3 words to paint onto 3 canvases.  My words are Oboe, Pineapple and Dive.  I showed you my oboe here.

About Erica Jong

Erica Jong, the American author who made a splash with the sexual frankness of her first novel, Fear of Flying, has written several works of fiction as well as nonfiction books, including the autobiographical Fear of Fifty. She was born in New York in 1942 and now splits her time between New York City and Weston, Connecticut. She has been married four times and has one daughter.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolKing
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 22:27:58

    Beth, you never cease to amaze me with your creativity. I just love the boxes you create and your pineapple rocks! The colors are fantastic.

    I like your quote for today. I have to learn some courage and get over some fears.

    Reply

  2. Francis
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 18:28:45

    Nice work on the pineaple. You bring the art from 2D into 3D. Have not try that yet but you’re my inspiration. Hmm..i like caviar, did try a bit of them, just a bit since they are really expensive. I also like ikura (salmon roe) they are much less expensive.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 10:17:25

    My goodness you are busy with profects and challenges from just everywhere. I like how you chose a style and format and went with it so all three will be presented similarly. The colors you chose for the pineapple go well with that bright tropical feel.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 28, 2010 @ 11:14:07

      Thanks, Leslie! I am trying to limit my projects a little, from what I used to do. Art House co-op is a great way to add projects to my resume, as they are not juried. I have never been juried into anything. *giggle*

      Reply

      • lesliepaints
        Jun 28, 2010 @ 12:06:37

        I face jurying this week. I don’t enter too many shows, anymore, because of the cost of framing and entry fees, but this is one I enter each year. It’s the old standby and I get nervous each time. It is a lot of work.

      • Beth Parker
        Jun 28, 2010 @ 12:14:01

        Good luck with the show, Leslie! I’m sure you’ll be juried in! 🙂

  4. ambiguousartistry
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 09:29:23

    Such a festive pineapple Beth, I’m really loving the bright colours you have used. I get such a strong summer feel, for a second I forgot it was winter lol.
    I have to say I’ve never acquired the taste for courage in high doses, because of my anxiety I can’t handle too much extra adrenalin running through my veins lol. Though I do believe we all have to challenge ourselves.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 28, 2010 @ 11:12:07

      Thanks so much! I am a little cautious, myself. I’m not going to take up sky diving any time soon. But I’m brave enough to try some new things. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

