Lake Hefner Lighthouse

“You give little when you give of your possessions.  It is when you give of yourself that you truly give.”
Kahlil Gibran

Lake Hefner Lighthouse

4″ x 6″ Watercolor on Indian Village handmade paper

Richard McNaughten put a lighthouse summer challenge on his blog.  Many of us are painting a lighthouse from our part of the world and posting it on our blogs, with a link back to Richard’s blog.   This is my entry.  I  didn’t think Oklahoma would have a lighthouse for me to paint, so I was pleasantly surprised.  I found this one on the internet.

I can’t wait to see what everyone else has come up with.  🙂

Just in case my painting makes you go through color withdrawl…. no fear.  I painted some pretty bright stuff over the weekend.  *giggle*

Khalil Gibran (born Gubran Khalil Gubran[1] bin Mikhā’īl bin Sa’ad; Arabic جبران خليل جبران بن ميکائيل بن سعد, January 6, 1883 – April 10, 1931) also known as Kahlil Gibran, was a Lebanese American artist, poet, and writer. Born in the town of Bsharri in modern-day Lebanon (then part of the Ottoman Mount Lebanon mutasarrifate), as a young man he emigrated with his family to the United States where he studied art and began his literary career. He is chiefly known for his 1923 book The Prophet, a series of philosophical essays written in English prose. An early example of Inspirational fiction, the book sold well despite a cool critical reception, and became extremely popular in the 1960s counterculture. Gibran is considered to be the third most widely read poet in history, behind Shakespeare and Lao-Tzu.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. absurdoldbird
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 07:56:17

    Nice treatment!
    🙂

    Reply

  2. blissbait
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 00:28:08

    Hey! I love Your black and white rendition! I don’t know that I’ve ever seen a black and white watercolour. Very beautiful and cool. Peaceful. Thank You and Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Richard McNaughton
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 22:01:17

    Great rendering. It looks a little like a light house in Tobermory Lake Huron.

    Reply

  4. Diehl Art Gallery
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 21:44:09

    Great lighthouse and good call on the paper as well!

    Reply

  5. lindahalcombfineart
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 17:39:24

    Beth, very nice. It really seems to jump start my creativity when I go back and forth between mediums. I don’t know if you feel the same but this drawing has a different look than many of your paintings. Almost a fragile, antique look.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 21, 2010 @ 17:55:53

      Thank you, Linda! Yes, it does “jump start” my creativity to change mediums or try new techniques. Black and white is really outside the box for me, but I enjoyed it. I really had to resist the urge to sprinkle a little color in there. 🙂

      Reply

  6. lesliepaints
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 09:56:18

    I am liking these handmade paper paintings you have been doing. I like that you did this painting in black and white, also. You are such a color person. Was it more difficult? The shadow on the water is an absolute plus to giving this depth and height. Love it!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 21, 2010 @ 10:11:00

      Thanks so much, Leslie! I don’t know if it was harder or maybe easier, since I was working from a black and white photo. (Did that make a lick of sense?) The neat part is that I have been wanting to try a painting, using just one tube of paint. I didn’t do it, of course, 🙂 but it was still a great challenge for me.

      Reply

  7. CarolKing
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 09:43:13

    Hey Beth, it’s been a great morning going around and seeing everyone’s lighthouses. I particularly like that you did yours in shades of grey. I like the reflections on the water and the stone outcropping that the lighthouse is perched upon.

    Reply

  8. asmalltowndad
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 09:30:12

    I love this, especially on the handmade paper. I often wondered on how to make paper, I think that would be so cool to make your own. Nice job Beth!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 21, 2010 @ 09:51:02

      Thanks, Ryan! I have some books on making handmade paper, but I have yet to try it. I bought quite a bit of this 4″ x 6″ paper because it was cheap. Then, I realized that I like it. Nice surprise. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

