The Eyes Have It

“In this age, which believes that there is a short cut to everything, the greatest lesson to be learned is that the most difficult way is, in the long run, the easiest.”
– Henry Miller

I’m going to have to give that one some thought.  🙂

The Eyes Have It

4″ x 6″ Watercolor on Indian Village handmade paper

Okay, I really didn’t make the eyes weirder than the photo.  This Lemur really did have these eyes.  They are a little unsettling, but it was fun to paint him.

About Henry Miller

The bohemian American novelist Henry Miller is best known for his sexually daring autobiographical novels, Tropic of Cancer and Tropic of Capricorn, and for his love affair with benefactor Anaïs Nin. He was born in 1891 in New York. His writing blossomed after he moved to Paris in 1930 but was banned in the United States for its erotic content. Miller eventually won the right to publish in the U.S., becoming an icon of the sexual revolution. He died in 1980 in California.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. absurdoldbird
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 12:51:04

    Love it!
    🙂

    Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 11:05:38

    Maybe those are Henry Miller eyes???!!! Anyway I like this – Bright, crisp, clear and fun.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 08:36:14

    There is something about these last three paintings that I really like. They are bright and I think I really like seeing all these brushstrokes that are adding to the texture of everything.
    I like the quote. Makes me think of when we try to put something together and don’t read the directions because it is too time-consuming. I have botched enough to know that I must read directions and take a little longer. LOL

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 15, 2010 @ 08:50:19

      Thanks, Leslie! I think the paper makes the brush strokes show a little more. Funny, but I aspire to do the wet watery watercolors. I just keep painting…. anything is possible if you keep at it. (and if you read the directions first…. *giggle*)

      Reply

      • lesliepaints
        Jun 15, 2010 @ 09:55:25

        O’kay. I see it says handmade paper. Is this paper that you made or is it paper you ordered and from who? I like the effect you are achieving with it. I think it has a lot to do with your skill, too!

      • Beth Parker
        Jun 15, 2010 @ 10:01:29

        Well, thanks! It’s store bought paper. I bought quite a bit of it really cheap. They are 4×6 postcard size. It is less forgiving than other paper and very fiberous. I would love to make some paper, but that’s for another day…. far far away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

