Who Scared the Cat?

Sometimes our light goes out but is blown into flame by another human being.  Each of us owes deepest thanks to those who have rekindled this light.
–Albert Schweitzer


Who Scared the Cat?

6″ x 9″ Watercolor


I don’t know how I do this sometimes.  It was an ordinary little kitten.  I turned it into a freaked out kitten.  he he  It’s a good thing people don’t try to analyze me, based on the stuff I paint.  Hmmmm….. maybe they do?  😀


Albert Schweitzer


“Reverence for Life” says that the only thing we are really sure of is that we live and want to go on living. This is something that we share with everything else that lives, from elephants to blades of grass – and, of course, every human being. So we are brothers and sisters to all living things, and owe to all of them the same care and respect, that we wish for ourselves.

Schweitzer himself said that his hospital was “an improvisation”, and that the most important part of his legacy was his philosophy. Much of his thought has already spread throughout the world, in the form of ecological movements and the ethical considerations arising out of economic activity and scientific discovery. But the tough and realistic way in which he thought about life, and also lived his thought, is something that the world still sorely needs.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Francis
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 18:19:41

    I really like the cat with it’s purple fur and big big eyes. It reminds me of the dissapearing cat in the movie Alice in the wondeland which i just watch from DVD few days ago. Great job Beth.

    Reply

  2. Jingle
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 08:39:12

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/09/the-celebrate-blogger-of-april-awards/

    award, check out details yourself…
    Happy Wednesday!

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 06:58:51

    Kitty looks like he’s saying “And Snowball said WHAT!??” Fun!!

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 12:40:41

    I like the big-eyed cat! You are superb when you get going with the eyes on critturs. I believe I’ve commented on that before, here. I believe a lot of your exuberance for life comes through in your work. If that is analyzing then, so be it. I think that is a good thing! Besides, I have had cats that look at me like this. 🙂

    Reply

  5. asmalltowndad
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 08:15:01

    Everything will be just fine Beth, now take this pill and put your jacket with the sleeves that tie in the back, back on… and the doctor will be in soon. LOL. This is a perfect painting of a cat that sees your not wearing your jacket or taking your special pill!
    All kidding aside, this painting reminds me of those paintings of little girls in the early 70’s with the great big eyes, not sure what they were called but my sister had a fewon her wall.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 08, 2010 @ 08:33:34

      HA! I was right! I am being at least “wondered about”! he he Cool! I love the idea that
      I scared the cat! Now, what did I do with that jacket? 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

