Chalk Artist

“Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go.”
– T.S. Eliot

Chalk Artist

6″ x 9″ Watercolor

I have to say, that I am not a fan of masking fluid.  I had a plan, here, but some 2 year old masking fluid caused me a little grief.  When I tried to remove it, it turned to slime.  By the time I got it off, I had some soiling of the areas that I wanted to be white, so needless to say, there is no white.  I managed to add a little light blue and at least hide where it had some imperfections.

Here, it shows that I was trying to leave a white line, as  Leslie White demonstrated on her blog.  She has achieved such incredible results, leaving a white line meandering through her painting.  I am definitely going to try this again, but without the masking fluid.  🙂

About T.S. Eliot

T.S. Eliot, the Nobel Prize–winning poet, is perhaps best known today for a light book of rhymes that became the Broadway hit Cats. He penned such weightier poems as “The Waste Land,” “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock,” and “Four Quartets.” His work is rich with deeply felt religious meditations, but he never wanted to be perceived as a religious poet. He was born in 1888 in St. Louis and made his adult home in England, where he worked as an editor at the publisher Faber & Faber. He died in 1965.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blissbait
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 22:22:24

    Hey! Just buzzed over here from The WONDERFUL Leslie White’s site….WOW! Beautiful!!! Thank You and Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Richard McNaughton
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 20:09:21

    I hate masking fluid! ….was that too strong?

    Any how great watercolour.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 17:27:17

    This is a wonderful painting. I love it!

    Reply

  4. asmalltowndad
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 09:52:30

    I have had the same headaches with masking. They torn my paper, stained the areas used and a pain to apply, I figured it was the brand I was using. Your painting is so cool, as Leslie said the bird with interest of the artist is my favorite. Very cool!

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 09:08:22

    Here is Don’s website and gallery, Beth. I think you are going to like his work, color and all. http://www.donandrews.net/

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Sisters! « Leslie White
  7. lesliepaints
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 08:36:36

    PS I love the birdie in the background!

    Reply

  8. lesliepaints
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 08:35:41

    I think you did better without that line. The white gets wide in places. On this one, the light comes in from the left, on the pavement (I like that!) and then travels up this guy’s arm and up the other arm leading the viewer to his head. I think this is full of light and that is what you are looking for. Don’t get hung up on a tiny line. Stand back. You will notice you have sunlight in this one, Beth! Bravo!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 07, 2010 @ 08:48:27

      Thanks, Leslie! I did have some conflict with the light, didn’t I. Well, all in all, I’m pretty pleased with the outcome. I don’t have much experience with painting people, so if I keep trying…. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

