Coconuts Anyone?

“If we wait for the moment when everything is ready, we shall never begin.”
– Ivan Turgenev

Coconuts Anyone?

6.25″ x 8.75″ Watercolor on Fabriano  cold press paper

Aren’t green coconut overrated?  he he  🙂  I had such a good time doing this.  I enjoyed playing with the light on the wonderful reference by Lisilk at WetCanvas.    Before I did the splatter on it, it just seemed a little flat.  Isn’t it amazing what a little splash of random color can do?

About Ivan Turgenev

Russian novelist Ivan Turgenev, celebrated for his dark, realistic novels about Russian life, is best known for the novel Fathers and Sons, about the conflicting ideologies between generations. He was born in 1818 to a wealthy Russian family. He and his brother were raised by an abusive mother who was rumored to have smothered one of her serfs. He rose to fame with A Sportsman’s Sketches, which may have influenced the Tsar to free the serfs. He died in France in 1883.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolKing
    May 20, 2010 @ 08:40:37

    Those red coconuts VIBRATE with energy. This is another beautiful watercolor. I love the composition, and the splatter makes it sing.

    Reply

  2. Rick Daddario
    May 19, 2010 @ 15:47:50

    aloha Beth – yeah. i think the splattering in this work brings air and space into the atmosphere so that the color can breathe.

    i like green coconuts – especially drinking the water and slurping the gel on warm days. ….of course i like playing with color too – and this is a really fun playing you have going on in this work. i like the range of cool reds to warm reds and on into hot orange and yellows – zing. fun. – aloha – Wrick

    Reply

  3. Joan T
    May 18, 2010 @ 11:35:24

    Beth – How fun!!! Super colors!!!! I wish my mind worked that way! This looks great. I didn’t see it on the WDE yet. I’m so far behind commenting there.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    May 18, 2010 @ 09:48:49

    I absolutely love the colors in this, Beth. You have captured the sensation of bright light and heat in this. One of my favorites of yours!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      May 18, 2010 @ 10:36:41

      Thanks, Leslie! When it was looking flat, I actually said to myself, “What would Leslie do?” So I splashed it with a little purple and blue. *Big Grin* 😀

      Reply

  5. Trackback: For My Students « Leslie White
    • Beth Parker
      May 18, 2010 @ 10:37:08

      Thanks for the link, Leslie! 🙂

      Reply

      • lesliepaints
        May 18, 2010 @ 10:54:08

        You are welcome.I have to start linking to all of you again.I keep forgetting to. There are neat things that we are all doing and trying.
        As for splattering….man, it takes me a lot of time to decide to do it. I wait a few days and make sure I don’t like something the way it is before I attempt it. There are some artists that wouldn’t feel something of theirs is finished without a little splatter here and there.

Leave a Reply

