Following Bubba

“We must not, in trying to think about how we can make a big difference, ignore the small daily differences we can make which, over time, add up to big differences that we often cannot foresee.”
– Marian Wright Edelman

Following Bubba

8″ x 10″ Yarka Watercolor and Pen on Bristol Smooth 100 lb.

In southeast Oklahoma, we have the Bubbas and the Gomers (according to my husband’s theory).  The Bubbas are the leaders, of sorts.  They know everything about everything…. just ask them.  The Gomers follow the Bubbas around, trying to absorb all of the knowledge, so that one day, they may be followed and admired by all.  We all need something to aspire to, right?

I didn’t remember that I had this paper.  I found it on the bookshelf in my studio Saturday.  (I think it’s actually meant for drawing.)  It was fun to work on it.  The next surface I want to try is Tyvek.  I’ve been seeing people do beautiful things with it.   🙂

About Marian Wright Edelman

American activist Marian Wright Edelman, who founded the Children’s Defense Fund (CDF) as a voice for poor, minority, and handicapped children, was the first African-American woman to practice law in Mississippi. She was born in 1939 in South Carolina. Her father, a Baptist preacher, died when she was 14; his last words to her were, “Don’t let anything get in the way of your education.” She graduated from Yale Law School in 1963. Her many awards include the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    May 04, 2010 @ 13:23:16

    “Sometimes it’s not best being the Bubba, because you might just get goosed” or is it “It’s best to be a Bubba, because a Gomer has to watch where he’s stepping” Oh well what ever it may be Cute painting!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      May 04, 2010 @ 14:13:49

      Thanks, Ryan! I have a sneaking suspicion that geese like walking in goose poo! My sister had two geese, Dinner and Time, and they had to hose their entire yard down every day. Goose poo everywhere! 😀

      Reply

  2. ambiguousartistry
    May 04, 2010 @ 04:18:21

    Really nice quote Beth, sometimes we all need that reminder.
    I love the ducks, each have their own individual personalities. I actually have a little fear of birds, something about the leader duck remind me of being chased by chickens when I was young lol.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      May 04, 2010 @ 05:41:27

      Thanks, Chloe! I used to have some banny roosters that hated men! They’d chase them across the yard and even tho they were only about 8″ tall, the men would run! he he he

      Reply

  3. cindyinsd
    May 03, 2010 @ 23:33:46

    Seriously? Tyvek? It would never have occurred to me, and I’ve thrown away yards and yards of it. 😦

    Your geese are so, well, goosey. They’re perfect. And don’t we all crave to be admired? Even though we know it’s useless, we all want it. I love the pen and wash. It’s a beautiful technique and you’ve made perfect use of it here.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      May 04, 2010 @ 05:40:05

      Thanks, Cindy! Yeah, I would have never thought of tyvek either. Joan Tavolott talks about it on her blog, and I have seen some other stuff lately. I’ll let you know. *grin*

      Reply

  4. lindahalcombfineart
    May 03, 2010 @ 17:19:54

    I loved your story. And isn’t it the truth!? The painting is so humorous. You capture our human nature so well. By the way, I noticed you are using Yarka watercolors. Do you like them. I have heard they give more saturated, intense color. Are they in pans?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      May 03, 2010 @ 17:35:43

      Thanks, Linda! I do have a 24 color pan set of the Yarkas. They are the Cape Cod colors, or something like that. I haven’t used them a lot, but I like them. They are thicker…. almost sticky, so they do give a great saturation of color. I need to play with them more. I haven’t painted with them since last fall. 🙂

      Reply

  5. CarolKing
    May 03, 2010 @ 11:39:12

    Loved today’s quote. and the Bubba with the gomer’s are adorable!

    Reply

  6. lesliepaints
    May 03, 2010 @ 09:33:23

    This is a jam-packed post. Love the illustration of the Bubba goose followed by the Gomer geese. I really like the quote about little things adding up to big things. I have lived long enough to get to see the fruits of that in others’ lives as well as my own.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

