Broken Hearted

“Just as appetite comes by eating, so work brings inspiration, if inspiration is not discernible at the beginning.”
– Igor Stravinsky

Broken Hearted

2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor ATC

I don’t know why I see a broken heart, but I kinda do.   On the lighter side, I had my 3rd flying lesson last night!  🙂  It was so fun!  We flew patterns and touch and gos.  WOW!  I am really loving this flying gig!  The hour lesson just doesn’t last long enough for me.  It goes so fast!  I am gaining a little more confidence and some of the things are coming a little more natural.  All I can say is WOO-HOO!!! (Talk about something that makes your butt wiggle!) 😀

About Igor Stravinsky

Igor Stravinsky, the modernist Russian composer, had a profound influence on classical music with his musical innovations in such pieces as the ballet The Rite of Spring, which shocked contemporary society with the newness of its sound. He was born in 1882 near St. Petersburg. After briefly considering law, he apprenticed to composer Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. He was also a virtuosic pianist. He continued composing and touring into his 80’s. He died in 1971.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 07:15:40

    Really nice! It is so interesting to see the painting juxtaposed with your comments on flying. Can’t wait to see your next painting. Will you ever consider a flying series?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 22, 2010 @ 07:48:47

      Thanks, Linda! Oooo, what a fun idea! I had toyed with the idea of a student pilot blog, but I am just too busy to take that on, but an ATC series…. yeah! That sounds like fun! I’ll always be painting anyway, so why not? I already have ideas popping into my head. Thanks for the inspiration, Linda! 🙂

      Reply

  2. ambiguousartistry
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 13:47:53

    Oh yay another window, I’m so loving these Beth. They’re so fun.
    Good to hear the flying lessons are going well, I’m very envious.

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 12:32:07

    Not sure I needed to know about the butt wiggling thingy, but it sounds like fun! LOL. Now everytime I fly, my mind is going to be wondering if the pilots butts are wiggling and is it really fair for us that have no butts, I don’t think so! LOL
    O.K. now for the serious side, what I find curious about this window is that one shutter is almost perfect in condition and yet the other has fallen apart. Is this a symbol of life? Is it the side a little child looked out each time and worn it out? Or was there to much butt wiggling going on and broke the shutter… sorry, just can’t let that funny phrase go! Your great Beth!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 21, 2010 @ 13:40:33

      Ha ha ha … Butt Wiggling….. My husband told me that you have to stop and wiggle your butt at least once a day. It makes you happy! Try it! Why do you think dogs wag their tail? They’re wiggling their butt! *giggle*:D

      On the window… I actually painted that from a photo I found on morguefile.com. I would imagine that you’re right about the child. Either that, or the carpenter ran out of wood glue after he did the first side, so the second side was just held together with little nails. 😀

      Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 09:39:31

    I like your comparison of a broken heart. The other thought that comes to mind are the people, today, losing their jobs and not being able to afford even the materials to do easy repairs. I believe a home reflects things about the residents. Cool window.

    An hour? You get all that patterning and taking off and landing and such in an hour?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 21, 2010 @ 13:44:08

      Thanks, Leslie! I’m flying at a small airport (McAlester, OK) and we just do a rectangle around the runway, doing patterns. I think I had 4 takeoffs & landings (each). I may get to go again tonight, if the storm holds off until tomorrow. 🙂

      A home does say a lot about the situation inside. I like to guess about the people that live inside the houses, while I’m painting them.

      Reply

  5. Rick Daddario
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 08:10:48

    aloha Beth – i see several parallels between your title and the image. a structure that has been let go of and is in need of repair. the fading of color. a glimpse into darkness. so, yeah, i see a relationship between title and image. cool. windows and doorways as subject intrigue me. cool again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

