Pony in Winter Coat

“My father used to say to me, ‘Whenever you get into a jam, whenever you get into a crisis or an emergency…become the calmest person in the room and you’ll be able to figure your way out of it.'”
– Rudolph Giuliani

That is such good advice!  My CFI tells me the same thing about piloting a plane.  Be calm and you’ll have a much clearer head to handle whatever comes your way.

Pony in Winter Coat

2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor ATC

This was fun to do, using some of my favorite watercolors.  There’s something satisfying about painting with Quinacridone Sienna.  It goes with anything and it’s so  yummy.  I paint with it really thin and transparent to thickly rich.  I blend it with reds and yellows and greens.  I just love it!  In the background, my staple color Purpurite Genuine, some lavender and some Blue Stone.   Of course, there are some accents with Apricot Gouache, which is kinda flesh colored.

I am going up for my third flying lesson tonight, then it looks like stormy weather moving in, to ground me for the rest of the week.    😉

Yesterday, I received the following blogging awards from Jingle.    I am thankful and honored and will pass them on.

About Rudolph Giuliani

Rudolph Giuliani, the controversial former mayor of New York City, took the national spotlight after the events of September 11th, when he stood strong, pulling the city together, which garnered him the Person of the Year accolade from Time magazine. He was born in Brooklyn in 1944. As mayor, he presided over a massive urban redevelopment and implemented the “broken windows” policy, which cracks down on small crimes to deter larger ones. After his term as mayor ended, Giuliani founded an investment and consulting company. He remains heavily involved in American politics and ran for president in 2008.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ji
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 19:58:48

    Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 17:20:16

    Beth, this is the pony I always wanted when I was a little girl. Really cool ATC! Isn’t it amazing what we can do on such a little sheet of paper?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 21, 2010 @ 05:50:38

      Thanks, Linda. When I was a little kid, we had a Shetland Pony named Peanuts, for a while. We didn’t have it long. I do remember it walking into the kitchen thru the sliding glass doors once. It thought it was a dog. Our German Shepard didn’t like that at all. hmmmm…. maybe that’s why we didn’t have it for long. *giggle* 🙂

      Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 12:02:07

    Don’t let my oldest daughter see this cute pony or she’ll want it! Wonderfully cute painting and so tiny.
    Be safe while in flight, but you seemed to have a calm way about you in your posting, so I’m sure you’re a cool hand luke at the flight stick.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 20, 2010 @ 12:09:00

      Thanks, Ryan! I’ve just been reading an article about flying by the seat of your pants. It’s so cool, to be calm enough to “feel” what the plane is doing, literally in the seat of your pants! I want to practice some of that. 😀 Airplane zen? *giggle*

      Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 10:08:28

    Cute pony, Beth. I like all the texture rendered with your brushstrokes. Now I know why you thought my one painting had quinacridones! We are using different namebrand paints. 🙂
    Juliani’s Father was very wise. ….congratulations on your award!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 20, 2010 @ 11:13:59

      Thanks, Leslie. I mainly use Daniel Smith. I love their watercolors. You received some nominations over there at Jingle, too. I had never heard of them before yesterday. Life is certainly full of wonderful surprises. 😀

      Reply

  5. Rick Daddario
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 09:28:26

    aloha Beth – i hope it’s okay to leave a drill-down comment (i know i’m only addressing a very specific area in the background)… i like the color, application, texture and value range you have going in the upper left background area in this ATC – that is rich in itself. cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

