Angora Rabbit

“I think the purpose of life is to be useful, to be responsible, to be honorable, to be compassionate. It is, after all, to matter: to count, to stand for something, to have made some difference that you lived at all.”
– Leo Rosten

Angora Rabbit

4″ x 6″ Watercolor Postcard

I painted this little bunny last night, while I was waiting for my husband to get home from an adventure he was on.  He brought me the most unusual gift when he came in.  Uhgggg, have you ever seen a baggie full of fresh picked morel mushrooms?  The are really gross.  They looked like sponges fresh picked from the dark, colorless bottom of the sea.  They didn’t look pretty, like Ryan’s painting on his blog.   But, when Duane looked at me with that “pretty please” look, I quickly looked up Ryan’s instructions on how to cook them.   Ryan, you saved my butt!  Although I didn’t have time to soak them overnight in salt water, I followed the rest of your instructions to a tee.  They were delicious!!

Our friend Brad, who picked these morels, thought I might want to join him to pick more today.  No thanks, Brad.  I’ll leave the ticks to you, but they were wonderful!  Thank you!  🙂

About Leo Rosten

Leo Rosten, the Polish-American academic and author, is best known for his seminal The Joys of Yiddish, an amusing look at Yiddish words that have entered the American vernacular. Born in Lodz, Poland, in 1908, he immigrated to Chicago as a child. He wrote dozens of books, including a set of extremely popular humorous stories about Hyman Kaplan, a night-school student struggling with English. Under the pseudonym Leonard Q. Ross, he wrote mysteries and film noir screenplays. He died in 1997.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alina
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 14:37:50

    Ohh!
    This is so sweet!
    I like animals a lot!
    The new painting is very beautiful!!
    Thank you,dear friend!! 🙂

    Enjoy your week-end!! 😉 🙂

    Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 06:53:59

    This is what I would call a “funny bunny”. Made my day!

    Reply

  3. cindyinsd
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 00:17:31

    We used to have rabbits when I was a kid and we never learned the knack of house training them. But you could always find them by following the little trail of bunny pellets.

    Your bunny is so adorable. I love the texture and his little eyes. And I’m envious of the morels. I’ve always wanted to try them.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 08:39:30

    I really like the texture in this, Beth. Cute face!

    Reply

  5. ambiguousartistry
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 08:22:44

    Awwwww what a cute little rabbit. I have a huge soft spot for rabbits, I really want one lol.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 08, 2010 @ 08:31:31

      Thanks, Chloe! My friend Brad thinks I should have painted a leg coming out of this slipper! Men!! 🙂

      I hear you can house train these rabbits to go in a kitty litter box.

      Reply

      • ambiguousartistry
        Apr 08, 2010 @ 11:04:31

        Oh gee I didn’t even think of that lol.
        My mother keeps telling me rabbits can be house trained, I think she desperately wants me to get one. It’s odd she’s not even a animal person.

Leave a Reply

