Lily

“Consistency is only a paste jewel that cheap men cherish.”
– William Allen White

Lily

4″ x 6″ Acrylic on Blick Canvas Panel

I wasn’t too sure I liked that quote, when I first saw it.  I like consistency, I thought.   The norms, like bills being paid on time and the car always starting when I turn the key are some pretty great consistencies.  But to have everything be always predictable and in harmony would be rather dull.  I like the stuff in life that makes my brain come alive and my butt wiggle.

con·sis·tency (kən sistən sē)

noun pl. consistencies -·cies

    1. the condition of holding together; firmness or thickness, as of a liquid
    2. amount or degree of this oil of the wrong consistency
  1. agreement; harmony; logical connection arguments lacking consistency
  2. agreement with what has already been done or expressed; conformity with previous practice

Hmmmm, lovely to have stuff to ponder.  🙂

About William Allen White

William Allen White, the American newsman who ran the Emporia Gazette, is known for his essay attacking populism, “What’s the Matter With Kansas,” and for his eulogy for his 17-year-old daughter, Mary. He was born in Kansas in 1868. During college, he wrote letters to a grocer, a merchant, and a newspaper editor asking for work. The first two turned him down, so he ended up in journalism. He won a Pulitzer Prize in 1923 and is considered one of the most influential Kansans in history. He died in 1944.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolKing
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 16:28:25

    Beth, I really like the pink flower amidst all the greens. And I love how you outline your shapes in black. Do you do that with paint or with a marker after you’re done painting?

    I keep saying I want to try something like that. I think I will. I’ll show you when I’m done. 🙂

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 10, 2010 @ 16:52:18

      Thanks, Carol! I start with a black canvas and draw the shapes in with chalk. Then I block in the shapes with color and wipe off the chalk. Then I build up the color with lots of glazes. It’s fun. I learned how to do it when I went to a workshop in Port Townsend, WA last November. Don Tiller is the artist and he is a genius, in my humble opinion. I love to play with this technique. Check out this post to see what I mean.

      Reply

  2. ambiguousartistry
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 22:23:44

    Lovely piece Beth, the colours you’ve used are wonderful and look fantastic against the black.
    Interesting quote, I can see where it’s coming from. I personally thrive on consistency in my life at the moment, that’s because I don’t have inner stability. I know when one has inner stability change and spontaneity are easier to handle and even enjoyable.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 08, 2010 @ 07:41:20

      Thanks so much! I hope you find your inner stability. ((hugs)) Remember that your sense of humor and trying not to take yourself too seriously will help a lot. I certainly like calm consistency when I face inner turmoil. I do wake up each morning and feel grateful for what happiness I have and it seems the rest of my day kinda takes care of itself. 🙂

      Reply

      • ambiguousartistry
        Apr 08, 2010 @ 11:14:32

        Awww thanks ((((hugs)))). I try to approach my life in a positive manner and realise I’ll be a stronger person because of these struggles. I’m only 22 and realise inner stability will come in time. I feel very grateful I have a lot of support and being a part of this community brings a lot of joy to my life.

      • Beth Parker
        Apr 08, 2010 @ 11:19:43

        I wasn’t really confident until I was in my 30’s so just go with the flow and remember to wiggle your butt at least once a day! Works for me! 🙂

      • ambiguousartistry
        Apr 09, 2010 @ 04:54:04

        Haha I love that, I’ll definitely give that a try 🙂

  3. lesliepaints
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 21:22:00

    I like consistency. Life, however, dishes out the inconsistent and facing those situations requires flexibility and a sense of humor. I will never tire of your shapely paintings!

    Reply

  4. asmalltowndad
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 12:05:32

    Lovely painting Beth,
    I like the pink splashed in the middle of all the greens.
    I like to be spontaneous, but consistency in the normal life, sure makes it easier.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 07, 2010 @ 13:14:39

      Thanks, Ryan! I like the consistencies in my everyday routine, too. Like knowing my wonderful husband will always be there for me. That’s the good stuff!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

