Pretty Pink Sheep

“Hope is the feeling you have that the feeling you have isn’t permanent.”
– Jean Kerr

Pretty Pink Sheep

3.5″ x 5″ Watercolor

Sometimes you feel like a nut and sometimes you don’t.  🙂

Lately, I’ve been having a hard time concentrating on the Sign business.  There are times when all I want to do is art.  Today, I am going to rein myself in and make signs all day.  I envy artists who are able to make their living at art, but I feel really lucky to have my sign shop, too.  I have been doing this for 18 years and have been able to make my living being creative.  I guess it’s only natural to have periods of boredom, doing the same thing day after day, year after year.  You full time artists must experience something similar.  It’s hard to be “on” all the time.  So, today, I am going to go ahead and jump in with both feet and have some fun being in the sign business.  I may even be seen wiggling my butt!  🙂

About Jean Kerr

Comedic American author Jean Kerr is known for her wry take on married life in the suburbs in such books as How I Got to Be Perfect and Please Don’t Eat the Daisies, which was turned into both a movie and a TV series. She was born in Pennsylvania in 1922. She often collaborated on plays with her husband, drama critic Walter Kerr. She also wrote a number of plays by herself, including the extremely successful Mary, Mary, which ran for nearly 1,600 performances. She died in 2003.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 20:21:08

    If a real sheep looked at me that way as I peeked over the fence, I’d have to take her home. Everything else comes first here. That is why there is no such thing as painting in North light. It’s dark out when I paint. Hope to paint outdoors one day a week this summer. Happy sign painting!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 07, 2010 @ 05:51:16

      Thanks, Leslie! I tend to fall in love with critters real easy, too!

      Painting outside in light? What a wonderful thing to look forward to. I would love to do that, too. I do take my watercolor travel kit with me everywhere during the summer, but I don’t actually get it out very often, because I would be essentially ignoring anyone who happens to be there, as I get absorbed into my painting. When it’s just me and the hubby on the boat, sometimes I can tell it’s okay. He also likes a little bit of quiet time, once in a while (but not very often). Maybe I can figure out the delicate balance one day, but for now, my husband comes first, always. 🙂

      Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 07:46:55

    I hear you girl! My life is also like this and it can be very frustrating when I am not “allowed” to paint. Then I remind myself…I CHOSE my husband, my dogs, my volunteer activities! No one to blame but myself. Then I try not to bark at my hubby or growl at my dogs. Besides they just bark or growl back!!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 06, 2010 @ 07:50:27

      Yes Linda, we do have to remember that we made these choices. If we aren’t happy with those choices, we can certainly change them. I am extremely happy with mine, thankfully. But, I also reserve the right to regress now and then, as long as it doesn’t last more than a moment or two. 🙂

      Thanks for coming by. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

