Caladium Box Lid

“Character is simply habit long enough continued.”
– Plutarch

Caladium Box Lid

5″ x 5″ Acrylic

I am out of little paper mache boxes.  I wonder what’s next.  A friend just came over and showed me a diaper bag she made from a feed sack!  It is so cool!  I love creative people.  In these tough times, it’s not only frugal, but a great way to recycle!  Now my mind is whirling about some burlap bags I have been hanging on to for just the right project!  Who says you have to use a canvas?  🙂

About Plutarch

Plutarch, the Greek historian who penned more than 46 anecdote-laced biographies of famous Greek and Roman figures in his Parallel Lives series of books, was more interested in exploring the influence of character on a man’s personal destiny than in writing dry histories. He was born in Greece during Roman rule, most likely in the year 46. He traveled extensively through the Roman Empire, finally returning home to become a priest of Apollo at the Oracle of Delphi. He died in the year 120.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CheyAnne Sexton
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 08:02:48

    you work is just awesome. I do think they would sell on etsy. they are so different. when you say mache box? what is that exactly?
    do you prime them first? I’m like the others, I can’t wait to see what you do with burlap, but it sounds like fun.
    peace n abundance,
    CheyAnne
    http://cheyannesexton.etsy.com

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 29, 2010 @ 08:32:24

      Thanks, CheyAnne! I did prime them first with black gesso. After they were finished, I sprayed several coats of clear sealer over them. I probably should line the inside, if I am going to sell them. Maybe with some felt?

      Reply

      • CheyAnne Sexton
        Mar 30, 2010 @ 22:53:01

        felt might be nice inside. Or maybe just one of the colors from the top??? They just look so fun. And I’ll go check out the link you sent.
        peace n abundance
        CheyAnne

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 29, 2010 @ 08:36:07

      Oh, I forgot to tell you what that is. Here is a link. I had a little set of three boxes, 6″, 5″ and 4″. 🙂

      Reply

  2. CarolKing
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 20:27:52

    I could have sworn I commented on this! I must have just come by, admired it and then left! Sorry, I love the orange and purple. Anyone would LOVE to get one of these boxes. I can’t wait to see what you do with burlap.

    Reply

  3. Carol King
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 16:03:04

    I really love all these boxes you’ve done. The purple and the orange is quite striking. Looking forward to your burlap series.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 20:40:25

    Really beautiful use of secondary colors, Beth. How different this is from the other one. Great!

    Reply

  5. Alina
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 14:03:07

    This new painting is very beautiful!!!
    I like how you paint with red,orange and green!! 😉
    You have lot of talent!!!
    Keep painting!! 🙂

    Have fun!!!

    Reply

  6. thewhiteswan
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 09:24:04

    Love this as well, can’t wait to see what you come up with for the burlap!!!!
    K

    Reply

Leave a Reply

