Spring Poppies

“Be not afraid of life. Believe that life is worth living, and your belief will help create the fact.”
William James

Spring Poppies

4″ x 4″ Acrylic

Ryan, on his blog,  asmalltowndad, posted a photo of poppies and challenged all of us who follow his blog to do our own version of the poppies and post them today.  I have already peeked at his and they are gorgeous!    I did mine on a little paper machete box.  Here are a couple other views.

I’m off to post a link on Ryan’s blog.  It should be fun looking at all the poppies today!

About William James

American psychologist and philosopher William James, brother to author Henry James, wrote voluminously during his life, exploring a range of issues from a theory of emotion to a philosophy of history. He was born in New York in 1842 and wanted to be an artist, but his father disapproved. He obtained a medical degree but felt unsatisfied and depressed, leading to a crisis that he called his soul sickness. After this turning point, he began his fulfilling second career. He died in 1910.

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debbyfriselladesigns
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 19:10:19

    What kind of boxes do you paint on? They are beautiful!

    Reply

  2. 47whitebuffalo
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 19:28:20

    LOL–i’m just following the painters who have responded to Ryan’s poppie painting project–and–I’m having a great time seeling ALL these lovely flowers.
    And your quote–well–I needed that today! Thank you.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 09:13:02

    The idea of using a box was so clever. I really like the stylized look of your painting. Fun, fun, fun!

    Reply

  4. CheyAnne Sexton
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 18:28:19

    OMGoodness this is awesome. What a fun painting. Love the idea of painting on a box top. Have you tries selling these on etsy?
    peace n abundance
    CheyAnne

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 25, 2010 @ 05:58:58

      Thanks, CheyAnne! No, I haven’t tried Etsy. I opened an account, but I can’t seem to find the time to get it populated. I have a ton of stuff I could put in there. 🙂

      Reply

  5. Alex Zonis
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 17:01:26

    A box!!! How neat! I am visiting my blogging friends today and commenting on poppies, LOL. Ryan started a poppy party :D! Yours is wonderful, clever and pretty. Love it!

    Reply

  6. absurdoldbird
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 15:30:34

    This is very pretty – nice idea to put it on a box, too.
    🙂

    Reply

  7. thewhiteswan
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 15:02:00

    Love, love, love this! I completely agree with Carol, the first thing that I thought of was stained glass. What a creative way to interpret a photograph of flowers. Inspired.
    Karen

    Reply

  8. breetsuts
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 14:32:17

    Oooo, this reminds me instantly of stained glass as well! I love that you choose to paint on a box instead of regular paper or canvas. Unique interpretation!

    Reply

  9. ambiguousartistry
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 13:53:10

    Oh I love what you’ve done, the colours are lovely and fun.

    Reply

  10. CarolKing
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 09:46:20

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your poppies. The box reminds me of stained glass. I may have to doing something a la Beth Parker style. Hope you don’t mind. (Remember, imitation is the greatest form of flattery.)

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 24, 2010 @ 09:51:00

      Oooo, please do, Carol! I can’t wait to see what you come up with! If you like this style, check out Don Tiller. I took a workshop from him last November in Port Townsend, WA. I LOVE his work and he is an amazing teacher, too!

      Reply

  11. asmalltowndad
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 09:26:35

    This is it, this is what I was attempting to do, but failed. Beth, this is absolutely beautiful and full of, as Alina commented, Joyful style! Thank you so much for taking the time to add to my fun!

    Reply

  12. lesliepaints
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 09:05:02

    Of course! A poppy box! I have always been impressed with your talent to take shape and color and create the true essence of a subject. Beautiful!

    Reply

  13. Francis Jong
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 08:36:50

    Hi, got your link from Ryan, I really like the idea of painting come to life. Just like yours where one can touch and move it around. Nicely done and very nice colors indeed.

    Reply

  14. Goldenpear
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 08:32:08

    Oh wow…I love this…and kinda want it! Lol, you really have a beautiful piece here, and it’s so small!

    Reply

  15. Alina
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 08:14:34

    Woooooooow.I love it!!!
    It’s full of joy your new painting!!!
    I like the challenge that Ryan lanched it 😉

    Enjoy your day!!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

