Freckles

“Make voyages! — Attempt them! — there’s nothing else…”
– Tennessee Williams

Freckles

2.5″  3.5″ Watercolor

I did this little frog for an ATC swap a while back.  The frog in the reference photo was just that color.  How fun frogs can be.  They come in so many different colors and designs!  Mother nature had fun with them, too!

Here is a link to one of my favorite froggy paintings.

About Tennessee Williams

Tennessee Williams was the pen name of Thomas Lanier Williams, the multiple-award-winning Southern Gothic playwright best known for his plays Streetcar Named Desire and The Glass Menagerie. He was born in 1911 in Mississippi, where he had a difficult childhood with an abusive father, a smothering mother, and a schizophrenic sister. His emotionally honest plays often feature sensitive souls who don’t fit into a confining culture. He spent most of his adult life in New York City. He died in 1983.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 08:56:00

    Frogs of many colors! All the colors of Jelly beans! Gosh where my wandering brain could go with this. Your paintings are so much fun and your blog challenges me and makes me think.

    Reply

  2. Carol King
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 06:45:31

    Wonderful, colorful frog.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 10:08:10

    Cool frog, Beth. I remember your green tree frog that I liked so much, previously. I think you should link to him from this post! What a neat series they would make with your use of vibrant color. Love it!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 11, 2010 @ 10:20:23

      Thanks, Leslie! I just never think to link to my own previous posts. Frogs are so fun to paint. I had a ball doing a series of shoes, too. My next series is going to be windows. I am just getting started in an all window ATC exchange at WetCanvas. 🙂

      Reply

  4. dissengallery
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 09:34:07

    He’s adorable, and they do come in many colors! I wanted to mention that I love the Ovid quote as well…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

