Swimming Pretty

“If you want a place in the sun, you’ve got to put up with a few blisters.”
– Abigail Van Buren

Swimming Pretty

5″ x 7″ Watercolor

This one is a little bit of a happy accident.  I placed some stretched out gauze across a piece of watercolor paper and dabbed color onto it.   (I got a little too far into it, when I realized I forgot to mask off a place for my fish. )  After it dried, I removed the gauze and continued with a little negative painting around the coral.  Not to be undone by my own forgetfulness, I painted a little fish on a scrap of watercolor paper and attached it to the painting.  I think it will make a nice birthday card for a child.  I send hand painted cards to all my family members.  They love it!

Just for fun, I pulled the colored gauze out of the trash can and scanned this one.  Isn’t that fun?  🙂

An even better birthday card, perhaps?

Gotta love those happy accidents.  🙂

About Abigail Van Buren

Pauline Phillips, better known as Abigail Van Buren, wrote the syndicated “Dear Abby” column for 46 years. She was born in 1918 in Iowa. She had never written professionally when she contacted the San Francisco Chronicle‘s editor and said she could do better than their current advice maven. Her version was an instant success. Her twin sister, Esther Lederer, became an advice columnist under the name Ann Landers. Phillips retired in 2002; her daughter, Jeanne Phillips, took over her column.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dissengallery
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 09:32:11

    These are cool, you have captured color, texture and movement, not easy to do, nice job Beth.

    Reply

  2. CarolKing
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 21:39:54

    I think both are great and would LOVE it if I got one of them as a birthday card.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 18:17:40

    And you can pour watercolor through gauze too! Love the color and fun and whimsical spirit. A child would love to receive these…adults too.

    Reply

  4. Alex Zonis
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 13:11:35

    I like them both – so cheerful! I have to try this technique – sounds really neat!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: This is a fun picture I painted from a picture my daughter in law took. « Leslie White
  6. lesliepaints
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 11:05:32

    I feel sorry for the one in the net! I love the top one! Beautiful color, Beth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

