Sunnie Louise

“Think it more satisfactory to live richly than die rich.”
– Sir Thomas Browne

Sunnie Louise

2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor & Gouache on Art Spectrum Colourfix

Art Spectrum Colourfix is a paper used for pastels.  Pastels and I do not really like other very well, so I did a series of ATCs with it.  I put the first layers down with gouache  and when the gouache is wet, you can drop in some watercolor and it blurs right in, for lack of a better word.  It’s fun to paint on because it resists the paint just enough to make it sit on top of the paper for a bit, which makes playing a real treat.   I haven’t tried the light colored colourfix, because all I have is darks.  I imagine that would even be more fun!

About Sir Thomas Browne

The erudite English doctor Sir Thomas Browne, who wrote a number of books on science and religion, was known for his baroque prose style and his controversial opinions. He was born in 1605 in London and settled in Norwich to practice medicine. He wrote his most famous book, Religio Medici (The Religion of a Physician), an intellectual autobiography, in 1635. A friend published it in 1642 without his permission, embarrassing him, but the book’s popularity encouraged him to write more. He died in 1682.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Halcomb
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 15:37:28

    Great (and colorful!) frog. Does the name Sunnie Louise have a special meaning? I have pastels but have not used them since high school but at the time I did not like the dry, draggy feel. I will have to pull them out and give them a try!

    Reply

  2. Carol King
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 11:30:59

    Hey Beth, I’m with you guys, pastels and me are a no go. Way too messy. I like your frog very much.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 09:33:33

    Pastels and I don’t like each other, either, Beth. But….I really think it is me as it is a lot of messy time spent for part of it to fall off the paper when you are done. I can appreciate a well done one by someone else. Nice Frog!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 03, 2010 @ 09:46:14

      Thanks, Leslie. I have seen some beautiful pastel paintings. That’s what prompted me to try it. (I have to try everything!) To me, they feel awkward in my hands, too. To much like coloring with a big fat crayon. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

