The Grazing Giraffe

“Forget past mistakes. Forget failures. Forget everything except what you’re going to do now and do it.”
– William C. Durant


The Grazing Giraffe

4″ x 5″ on 5″ x 7″ Watercolor Greeting Card

I learned something new and wonderful on Leslie White’s blog here.  She toned her kitty with a blue watercolor wash, before she painted the details in.  I thought that was brilliant, so I tried it on this giraffe.  Here is the naked picture, before I added the spots.

I really love this whole idea!  Leslie’s cat has such beautiful form, and I think it helped my giraffe.  Thanks, Leslie!!

By the way, I passed my FAA Private Pilot Knowledge Test with a 93% yesterday!  I am so thrilled!  I can’t wait to start the flying lessons.  🙂

About William C. Durant

William C. Durant, founder of General Motors, consolidated much of the fledgling American auto industry under one roof. He was born in 1861 in Boston and grew up in Flint, Michigan. His innovative business model was to buy out vendors and acquire competitors. Forced to resign from GM due to this management style, he founded a new company with his race-car driver, Louis Chevrolet. He later regained control of GM but lost everything in the Great Depression. He died in 1947.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 21:20:57

    Wonderful Giraffe. (I like giraffes) And congratulations on passing your FAA test!

    Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 18:44:13

    Congratulations! Will you be plein air painting from your plane?

    I love the giraffe and I think the sharing and the learning I have experienced as a blogger is what makes it worth-while. I am hooked!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 03, 2010 @ 06:41:40

      Thanks, Linda! Yeah, I have learned so much from this blogging experience! I can’t imagine not hopping around to everybody’s cyber-studios. I am also hooked. As for plein air from the plane….. uh uh! *grin* But, I have already done paintings based on what I saw from up there, so that is a very big… Oh Yeah!!! *giggle* I can already see my instructor making me leave my camera on the ground during training. (but I’ll still have my phone. 🙂 )

      Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 13:37:01

    Thank-you, Beth! I love your giraffe! You can also use other colors over the blue like the local clor you might find in the darks of the animal. I like this giraffe’s spread legs and repeated triangles throughout the composition, also.

    Bravo on your test! However, I’m glad it’s you and not me, as I am horribly frightened by heights and get airsick as well.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 02, 2010 @ 13:40:34

      Thanks, Leslie! I really am looking forward to exploring this technique further!

      I am scared of heights, too…. but for some reason, airplanes don’t bother me. Good thing, huh! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

