Quilted Love

“When I do things without any explanation, but just with spontaneity…I can be sure that I am right.”
– Federico Fellini

Quilted Love

5″ x 7″ Watercolor & Sharpie

This is another Valentine.  This has just been so much fun.  I really do think it’s time to try some more quilting with paint.  🙂

About Federico Fellini

Famed Italian director Federico Fellini is known for the dreamlike logic and rich symbolism in Oscar- winning films like La Strada, La Dolce Vita, 8 ½, and Amarcord. His films often featured his wife, actress Giulietta Masina, and his onscreen alter-ego, actor Marcello Mastroiann. He was born in 1920 in Rimini. After he’d begun his film career, he opened a store named the Funny Face Shop, where he sold his drawings and artwork from other filmmakers. His 1993 funeral was attended by thousands of fans.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alex Zonis
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 21:14:18

    OMG! These are so cute! And so dimensional! And so child-like! I love them! A weaver myself, I really appreciate textile art in general and quilting specifically.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Feb 18, 2010 @ 07:48:15

      Thanks, Alex! I love textile arts! I quilted years ago and it was impossible to just do quilt patterns. I couldn’t resist making pictures. Weaving is a beautiful art form!

      Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 10:53:00

    This is very cool, I have always admired the old quilting that my grandmother and aunt has done. To me it was an artwork on its own.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 09:01:03

    I “Heart” it! Seriously, these pieces are very attractive and I would think commercially valuable. Good luck with your quilting…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

