Studying Audubon

“Worry never robs tomorrow of its sorrow, but only saps today of its strength.”
– A. J. Cronin

That is so true!  I used to be the queen of worry.  I like life much better without it.

Studying Audubon

2.5″ x 3.5″ watercolor study of

John Audubon’s 1838 American Flamingo

I was in an ATC exchange some time ago where we studied the Masters and painted a crop or a whole painting in the style of the artist.  I learned so much during that exchange.  Some of the paintings that looked so easy, were really complicated.  This was one of my favorites.

Here is the original:

When I look at it now, I can see so many differences, but I still like it.  🙂

About A. J. Cronin

Archibald Joseph Cronin, the Scottish novelist who wrote as A. J. Cronin, had a full career as a doctor before turning to fiction. He was born in 1896, worked as a Royal Navy surgeon during World War I, and later was appointed Medical Inspector of Mines in Wales. Some of his most famous books are The Citadel, The Keys of the Kingdom, and Pocketful of Rye. His works were known to reflect both his religious beliefs as a Roman Catholic and his medical training. He died in 1981.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 09:53:46

    I am still the queen of worry, anxiety, angst, stress….. But I’m working on it.

    Your pink flaming is very striking. The bent head creates a lovely curved shape. I also enjoy how the view looks through the large bird’s legs to the other birds in the background creating quite a bit of movement in this small but vibrant painting.

    Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 15:25:51

    Beth, I am glad you chose something from the words of A. J. Cronin. I watched The Keys of the Kingdom when it was on Masterpiece Theater years and years ago. I enjoyed it so much that I read both The Citadel and The Keys of the Kingdom. They are very good books. Around Christmas I painted my first ACT’s. I sent them out to family members with my Christmas cards. I thought they might like to start collecting original artwork. (Ha!Ha!) Painting small was such fun and the small size supports experiemntation and learning. I plan to do more to continue what I’ve learned recently from the Stephen Quiller book Color Choices.
    I like your “Fingo”. Great choice to work with.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 22, 2010 @ 16:39:19

      Thanks, Linda! Yay, another Stephen Quiller fan! It’s so fun and there is so much color! The ATC size is perfect for experimenting, like you say. I’ve been giving my family “Beth originals” for a while and I thought they were just being nice, but lately, I have found out that they are really sentimental about those little paintings. Who knew?

      Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 10:06:08

    Worry keeps one up at night. No fun when that happens.

    I like your choice of art to study, Beth. The lowered neck and head are the attention getter on this one! You did a good job on it. I’m still amazed at all you artists who paint things like this on a miniscule format.:)

    My grand daughter calls these lovely birds “Fingos”.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 22, 2010 @ 11:28:19

      Thanks, Leslie! Fingos!! Ha! I love that! I was just talking with an artist friend of mine this morning about how calming it is to paint really small. We both love it! It’s hard for me to paint larger. I feel like I’m going huge when I paint 9″ x 12″. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

