June Bug

“Fear defeats more people than any other one thing in the world.”
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

June Bug

2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor

This is another one done from a Just Chaos photo.  She caught this bug in an oatmeal cup, outside Starbucks one morning, just so she could get a picture of it!  You go Chaos!

I actually had fun painting him, even though it kinda creeped me out!  I’m not sure I have been that intimate with a bug’s scary little legs before!  eek!  Emerson would have been pleased that I didn’t let my fear keep me from painting this one.  🙂

About Ralph Waldo Emerson

Ralph Waldo Emerson helped spark the transcendentalist movement with the essay Nature, which described his belief in the spiritual essence of humanity and the natural world. He was born in Boston in 1803. He was a Unitarian minister until he resigned in 1832 to become a philosopher and writer. He suffered the untimely deaths of many of his loved ones: three brothers, his first wife at age 20, and his eldest son at age five. Emerson died in 1882.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dissengallery
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 15:24:21

    Well you’ve managed to make one of the most icky, obnoxious bugs in the world appealing in watercolor, nice bug Beth….but yech…that crazy wobbly way they fly around into stuff freaks me out….

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 19:32:43

    Nice bug painting. These guys freak me out when they fly onto my head on my back patio. Now I see those bumpy legs are part of what makes them hard to flick off.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

