Cosmic Cat – December 30, 2009

Taking the first step helps bridge the gulf between our dreams and our accomplishments.

Whether the project is cleaning the garage, building a cathedral, or recovering from an addiction, plans must be translated into action. In order to arrive at our destination, we must begin the trip. We can read hundreds of college catalogs, but it’s when we register for a course, buy a textbook, and begin to study that we are on our way to a degree.

Two factors inhibit our beginning a project. The first is lack of clear motivation, and the second is fear of failure. If we don’t really want to do something, it’s hard to get started. So, if motivation is a problem, we may need to reconsider our choice of projects.

As for fear of failure, this may be something that we step over and around as we move forward. It is not a good reason for aborting a dream. If, in spite of fear of failure, we make a beginning, we will find that the fear shrinks with every step we take. Action is the catalyst. We learn how to do something by doing it.

I will take the first step toward accomplishing a dream today by getting started.

From the Inner Harvest
(a book on Eating Disorders)
by Elisabeth L.

I’ve been told that a lot of people quit when they feel they have failed at an aspect of learning to fly.  I’m going to have to remember this!

Cosmic Cat

4″ x 6″ Watercolor

I was painting a brass cat figurine, when something in me went retro!  I totally went haywire and dove back into the 60’s. Fun!


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Dec 30, 2009 @ 18:40:25

    I like what you posted about taking those first steps.I don’t know about lack of motivation except for what I have a lack of motivation for. They are generally the things I don’t want to be doing anyway. They may include things that I have to do like cleaning, washing clothes, vaccuming, etc. I do those because I want to keep my world uncluttered and clean. But….I find that many of my students get trapped in that “not being good enough” and have to battle their way through that mind set. I try to point out the good parts of what I see happening in their work and show them work of the masters that have similarities to their’s. Sadly, many of us have not learned to talk ourselves into patience and enjoy the ride as we learn our skills and train our technique. As a society, I find many seek immediate gratification instead of enjoying the journey.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Dec 30, 2009 @ 19:05:12

      You are so right! If we can just remember how we felt when something was going well, and be patient enough for the stumbling blocks, or the learning curve to smooth out. Have you heard the patience prayer? “God, please give me patience and give it to me RIGHT NOW!” ha ha

      Reply

Leave a Reply

