Luxury Yahts – December 2, 2009

“I’m a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work, the more I have of it.”
– Thomas Jefferson

Collage ATC’s.  Each is 2.5” x 3.5”

I learned how to do this from my favorite blog.  Leslie White is always coming up with something new, to stimulate my artistic senses.

My method is a little different than hers, so to see Leslie’s method, go to her blog here.

I just joined an exchange project on WetCanvas, called Alternate Art.  We are all doing something different than our normal painting or drawing.  I have never tried collage, so I decided to take Leslie’s cityscape collages and introduce my own twist.

First, I knew there would be 20 cards, so I cut strips of 140 lb. cold press, using my deckling tool.  Then I gave the sky and water a watercolor wash.

I painted all of the building shapes above the waterline with acrylic gel texture medium.

Using the same texture medium, I glued lots of strips and pieces to the skyline, after using a piece of painter’s tape to protect the water line.  (I quickly discovered that I couldn’t keep those little pieces straight by myself.)   I brushed a thin coat of medium across the buildings.

After it dried, I used a ruler and an X-acto knife to cut through the buildings, being careful not to cut all the way through the watercolor paper.   Then, I slowly pulled back the tape, to reveal a straight edge I never could have achieved with my gluey and sticky fingers.

Then I used acrylic paint to put the little details on the cards, then I glazed it over with Golden Fluid Acrylic Translucent Yellow Iron Oxide.  (I plan to change the appearance of the cards using different glazes, to keep from doing them all the same.)  The moons are little findings from my craft box.

Earlier, I had attached a bunch of luxury yachts to some sheets of sticky back foam sheets, using mod podge.  I cut them all out with an X-acto knife and saved them with their pertinent names and data in little ATC bags.  To attach them, I simply pulled off the backing and placed them on the cards.  I gave them a light coat of the same glaze.

3 down, 17 to go.  he he

About Thomas Jefferson

President Thomas Jefferson was a true Renaissance figure: politician, inventor, archaeologist, architect, and more. He was born in Virginia in 1743 and later designed his adult home at Monticello. Many consider him the brightest man ever to inhabit the White House. Jefferson was the primary author of the Declaration of Independence; the Library of Congress was founded from his personal collection. He died on July 4, 1826.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WildGoose
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 13:12:15

    Read your Dec 7th entry as well-l quite looking forward to seeing those corded night scenes…effective combo of real production and artistic individualization in the way you did these… the TJ quote is a perfect match!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: City Skylines « Leslie White
  3. lesliepaints
    Dec 02, 2009 @ 15:08:46

    This is absolutely phenomenal, Beth. You really put this idea and more to the test. I’m going to add a ping to this from my cities. BRAVO!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Dec 02, 2009 @ 16:26:06

      Thanks, Leslie! I veered off track when I didn’t have any gesso on hand and had to improvise. (I have my art supplies split between work and home.) This was really fun to do. I wonder if I’ll still feel that way after number 20. he he

      Reply

Leave a Reply

