Agapanthus – November 27, 2009

Life loves to be taken by the lapel and told: ‘I’m with you kid. Let’s go.’

– Maya Angelou

Ooooo…. I LOVE that! I hope you U.S. folks had a terrific Thanksgiving!

Agapanthus

5″ x 7″ Acrylic on Ampersand Panel

I did this little painting for the WetCanvas Plant Parade challenge. I know it doesn’t look like the real thing, but it was fun anyway.

About Maya Angelou

American poet and author Maya Angelou is best known for her autobiography, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. She was born in St. Louis in 1928 and grew up in rural Arkansas.. Due to her activism, Martin Luther King asked her to take a leadership position in his organization. In 1993, at President Clinton’s request, she wrote and performed a poem at his inauguration. She has also directed films and appeared on television. She teaches at Wake Forest University.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 15:23:59

    The design elements in some of your work is what really takes center stage, Beth. It is one of the reasons that I follow you. You have a handle on shapes and color and it keeps my mind from getting set to one form of art or another. I consider it a gift that you have. I like the colors in this and the way you have rendered the shapes in the composition give movement a go ahead. I like it.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 27, 2009 @ 15:59:15

      Well, Leslie, that is just the nicest thing to say! (blush) I almost didn’t post this, because I thought it was a little odd. I like what you said about not getting your mind set on one form of art or another. You also help me not to do that. I think I’m going to try a series using your cityscape collage method. Looks like fun!

      Reply

      • lesliepaints
        Nov 27, 2009 @ 16:16:18

        I think you will have fun with it. Fair warning: I had scraps of paper everywhere trying to decide what to include. I did them small. I will be doing a larger one. I hope before classes resume the end of Jan.

      • Beth Parker
        Nov 30, 2009 @ 09:35:18

        Oh my, you are right! I worked on them some this morning and I was a sticky papered mess. Talk about fun!! ~big grin~

Leave a Reply

