Father and Daughter – November 9, 2009

Opportunity may knock only once,
But temptation leans on the doorbell.

–Anonymous

Father & Daughter
Atelier Interactive Acrylic
on 4″ x 4″ Ampersand Aquabord Panel

First, I gave the Aquabord* 2 coats of Daniel Smith black gesso*. Then I used a pastel to draw the outlines. Then I filled in the sections with gouache, to sortof plan what I was going to do.


I filled it in with Atelier Interactive Acrylics*. This is only the second painting I have done with these acrylics, but I really like them! Sorry about the glare, but I was having fun, so I got a little impatient.

After it dried, I wiped off the pastel lines. It was a little tricky because it wasn’t all that dry (yeah… my impatience) and these acrylics are reactivated with water. It worked out anyway, because after I wiped off the lines, I saw some things I wanted to change. If you mist these acrylics with a slight spritz of water, you reactivate them and they can be worked some more. I like the way this turned out. It was a lot of fun!

* I don’t have any monetary interest in this product/service, I just really like it and want you to know about it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 09:43:28

    Beautiful picture, Beth. Simple but says it all.Thank-you for letting me know about these acrylics.I’d never heard of them.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 09, 2009 @ 09:51:12

      Thanks, Leslie. I bought a 12 color starter set and it came with a (temporary) bonus pack that had a water mister and 3 mediums, which I have yet to try. They’re great!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

