Aspens Aglow – September 29, 2009

Miracles are not altogether made out of dreams. Often they are put together out of plain, everyday, nonglamorous facts.

Norman Vincent Peale
Positive Thinking Every Day

Aspens Aglow
W&N Watercolor in my 5″ x 8″ Moleskine Travel Journal

Those aspens were glowing all around Jackson Hole, Wyoming. I was fortunate enough to be there late enough to see them turn yellow, yet early enough to miss the first snow and cold weather. I painted this on my way to the airport Saturday morning. I actually took two hours going that 11 miles to the airport. It was just too beautiful to rush.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 15:57:11

    Jackson Hole is a place I’ve visited and it is beautiful. I think you captured the essence of the place with this plein air. I especially like how you handled the large expanse of foreground with the large triangular shape. Those yellow aspens pop right out with the purple-blue behind. Thanks for this vision, Beth.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Sep 30, 2009 @ 05:19:41

      Thanks, Leslie! Your comments mean a lot. The plein air experience is really something all together different. It’s such a beautiful place and I was attempting to keep simple forms and not try to reproduce all the detail. It’ll be interesting to see what I do with the photos. **grin**

      Reply

Leave a Reply

