Oreo the Dachshund – September 21, 2009

“What we hope ever to do with ease we may learn first to do with diligence.”

Samuel Johnson


.

Oreo the Dachshund
Two – 4″ x 4″ Watercolors

My neighbor saw my Hip Cat painting and asked me to do a dachshund in purple for her girlfriend’s work cubicle. Her friend is a real purple freak! These will be mounted on 1.5″ thick gallery wrap canvases.

I am headed to Blackfoot, Idaho for my Mom’s 80th birthday. Then to Jackson Hole, Wyoming for a day of painting. I’ll be off-line until Sunday, Sept. 27th. Have a great week!

About Samuel Johnson

Samuel Johnson, the sharp-witted British essayist, wrote the first English language dictionary; his definitions still form the backbone of current dictionaries. He was born in Staffordshire in 1709. Johnson married a widow 20 years his senior and lived in poverty before achieving success with his essays when he was in his forties. Later in life, he befriended the young James Boswell, whose Life of Johnson became the quintessential English biography. Johnson died in 1784.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dissengallery
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 20:22:01

    What a perfect day to visit you! I am in Sacramento, house-sitting for my sister, but, I am primarily babysitting her two little dachshund girls, one black and tan and one red….both are extremely small, even for their miniature breed, and manage to be quite a handful of hilarious antics and energy. Thanks Beth….it’s aways a pleasure to visit you.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Sep 27, 2009 @ 09:06:06

      Thanks, Tracey! I just came from visiting my mom in Idaho and she has a yorky. Those small dogs never run out of energy! I just called him Mr. Bouncy! You won’t get bored, that’s for sure.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Sep 21, 2009 @ 13:54:21

    A purple dog! I thought only cows were purple! Stunning eyes. Love your color and shapes, once again.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Sep 21, 2009 @ 14:04:40

      Thanks, Leslie! I love purple, so was thrilled at the request. My neighbor loved them! My husband just puts that quizzical little grin on and nods. he he he

      Reply

Leave a Reply

