Tulip Farm – September 2, 2009

“Don’t be afraid of change, and never pass up an opportunity to try something new.”
~Dr. Robert Lopatin

.
Tulip Farm
8″ x 10″ Watercolor

I tried a few new things on this painting. I combined two different photo references, while keeping them separate in a way. This was the second time I had tried this technique, using a geometric shape as a part of the painting. I also used regular gauze, that we all have around the house, to get the relief in the foreground. I cut some gauze and stretched it out and laid it on the paper. I then used some Daniel Smith durochrome watercolor, pretty thick, on the gauze. I let it dry and removed the gauze. I painted the fence posts last.

Here is another one, where I used the gauze and geometric shape.

.
My 2008 Christmas Card
5″ x 7″ Watercolor

I was trying to make the rectangle blend, and not blend, with the background. It’s fun to get totally absorbed in something new!

.
Today’s quote came from Sally Evans, Embracing Creativity.

Be inspired to create a life you love!

Discover practical tools on how to use your creativity in business, the arts, expression, creative thinking, and every day living. Be empowered to live a more joyful and creative life. Check it out!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 08:47:46

    Hi Beth, I love your quote today about not passing up opportunities to try something new. These paintings are both super. I like the combination of the top one; gives me the feeling that you may have zoomed in on that flower from some part of the field, just so we could see it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

