Thank You Card – And some changes

.

“I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it.”

– Pablo Picasso

.

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

.

Thank You!

.

I painted this for my new friends, Val & Mary Easley.  They have been friends of my hubby’s for decades, but I just met them. 

.

We drove to Clinton, OK this weekend and spent time with this wonderful couple.   Mary is a die-hard crafter.  She has a sewing room that made me drool!  Then, outside is another whole building where she crafts all kinds of things.   I loved seeing all that, but more than anything, Val and Mary are two of the nicest people I have ever met.  Val is almost 82 and Mary is a young chickie of 72 and they have been married for 31 years.   They were awesome!

.

If you follow this blog, you may have noticed that I have been missing in action.  I’m still here, but I have had to exercise some self restraint, where the computer is concerned.  I’ve been so busy in my sign shop that it has had to come first.  It’s amazing how much I can get done when I don’t spend the first 2 hours of my day on blogging and social media.  Since 2007, I have blogged 5 days a week.  I’m just going to cut that back to maybe once a week.  I am going to try anyway.  I love doing this and I love being part of a larger art family, for sure.

.

I am still painting every morning between 5-6 am.  That will never stop.  :D

.

About Pablo Picasso

Pablo Picasso, the Spanish painter at the forefront of Cubism, is perhaps best known for his painting Guernica, which depicts the hopelessness and violence of war. The masterpiece hung in the Museum of Modern Art in New York until democracy was restored in Spain; the painting was then sent home, where it hangs now at Reina Sofí a, Spain’s national museum of modern art. Born in Spain in 1881, Picasso spent his adult life in France. Although he’s known for his abstract paintings, his realistic work, particularly his Blue Period, was equally accomplished. He loved to be surrounded by friends and had multiple love affairs. He died in 1973.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 10:00:57

    Love the card and I’m sure Mary and Val will love it too. I cannot believe you get up early and paint between 5 – 6 am. Wow. I’m impressed.

    Good for you that your sign shop is so busy. Bad for us that we don’t get to see as many posts from you during the week.

    Reply

  2. joantav
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 08:56:17

    They sound like great people. I can understand your need to cut back on computer time. Since I got my laptop I must spend twice as much time on the computer than I used to.

    Reply

  3. Linda Halcomb
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 05:40:23

    Bright and cheery. What a nice way to say thank you. (I’ve been away too but….I’m back!)

    Reply

  4. Debbie George
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 17:01:40

    Hi. Its Beautiful!!!! dgeo

    Reply

  5. Nuno
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 15:46:23

    Guernica, what impressive painting! Thanks for the quote.

    Reply

  6. Cindy D.
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 15:13:51

    So fun and cute! It almost has a retro 50s vibe. Sounds like a very cool couple!

    Reply

  7. just4crafters
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 09:05:17

    I’m sure Mary and Val will love this Thank You Card. It’s beautiful!!! I tried doing my art at that hour but I always seem to run out of time. Someone should come up with a way to add a few more hours to the day. It would be so helpful :) Have a good one!! ~Sophia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 999 other followers

