Chalk Line Beginnings

“When we long for life without difficulties, remind us that oaks grow strong in contrary winds and diamonds are made under pressure.”
– Peter Marshall

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Chalk Line Beginnings – Three 12″ x 24″ Gallery Wrapped Canvas

When my computer was down all last week, I took time to start a group of acrylic paintings I should have started a long time ago.  I wanted to have them ready for the new gallery opening, but I doubt I’m going to make it.  I’ll show you some progress shots this week.  This is the stage where I draw the beginnings onto my black gessoed canvases.

I actually went in to the studio and painted a little on them at 5:00 this morning, before getting ready for work.  I need to be twins for about 3-4 weeks.  :)

About Peter Marshall

Peter Marshall, the witty, magnetic Scottish-American preacher who became chaplain of the US Senate just two years before his death, was the subject of the 1955 movie A Man Called Peter, based on his wife’s best-selling biography. He was born in Scotland in 1902 and, as a boy, wanted to go to sea; he served in the navy before becoming a minister. His compelling orations and his belief that religion should be fun drew large congregations to his church. He died in 1949.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 13:24:25

    Do you really paint over chalk? Wouldn’t it leave a bumpy residue? I do not understand this chalk business! From what I can see it looks like it will have loads of neat details! Also, do you always start with black gessoed canvas? Is it your favorite way?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 28, 2012 @ 06:37:35

      Hi Cindy! Well, you don’t paint over the chalk, but up to it. Check out today’s post and it’ll make more sense. The black gesso is one of my favorite ways to paint with acrylic. It goes with my style really well. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 998 other followers

